US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

About the Interagency Security Committee

Interagency Security Committee logo


People are safe and secure in federal facilities throughout the country.


We safeguard U.S. nonmilitary facilities from all hazards by developing state-of-the-art security standards in collaboration with public and private homeland security partners.


Leadership for the Interagency Security Committee (ISC) is provided by the chair (the Department's Assistant Secretary for Infrastructure Protection), the Executive Director, and nine standing subcommittees:

  • Steering Subcommittee
  • Standards Subcommittee
  • Technology Best Practices Subcommittee
  • Convergence Subcommittee
  • Training Subcommittee
  • Design-Basis Threat Subcommittee
  • Countermeasures Subcommittee
  • Lessons Learned & Best Practices Subcommittee
  • Chair Roundtable Subcommittee



ISC subcommittees identify long- and short-term priorities and oversee strategic initiatives. Current subcommittees include the following:

  • Steering Subcommittee: Provides input to the chair and/or the executive director on priorities, project plans, and the operational impact of proposed initiatives to the security of Federal facilities
  • Standards Subcommittee: The focal point for coordination of all ISC standards
  • Technology Best Practices Subcommittee: Evaluates technology solutions, develops guidance on best practices, and maintains a clearinghouse of information for Federal security programs
  • Convergence Subcommittee: Develops mechanisms to support Federal agencies’ integration of information management controls with security programs
  • Training Subcommittee: Oversees and supports the development and delivery of training of the ISC Standards and Security Specialist Competencies.
  • Design-Basis Treat Subcommittee: Provides bi-annual updates to the Design-Basis Threat (DBT) report.
  • Countermeasures Subcommittee: Oversees the development of security criteria, degree of applicability, and associated countermeasures necessary to match the undesirable events as identified in the Design-Basis Threat (DBT) report.
  • Lessons Learned & Best Practices Subcommittee: Develops a process to deliver lessons learned and shared information to full ISC membership
  • Chair Roundtable Subcommittee: Enhances the quality and effectiveness of each ISC subcommittee by enabling the sharing of security related issues and events in a cooperative manner among the Subcommittee Chairs.

Working Groups

Working groups produce the ISC’s standards and best practices. Working groups are task-based and address a wide range of current and potential risks.

Superseded Products and Authorities

Contact Information

Interagency Security Committee
Department of Homeland Security
Washington, DC 20528
Attn: Executive Director


Last Published Date: May 8, 2014
Back to Top