US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Commercial Facilities Sector

Commercial Facilities Sector

Facilities associated with the Commercial Facilities Sector operate on the principle of open public access, meaning that the general public can move freely throughout these facilities without the deterrent of highly visible security barriers. The majority of the facilities in this sector are privately owned and operated, with minimal interaction with the federal government and other regulatory entities.

The Commercial Facilities Sector consists of the following eight subsectors:

  • Public Assembly (e.g., arenas, stadiums, aquariums, zoos, museums, convention centers)
  • Sports Leagues (e.g., professional sports leagues and federations);
  • Gaming (e.g., casinos)
  • Lodging (e.g., hotels, motels, conference centers);
  • Outdoor Events (e.g., theme and amusement parks, fairs, campgrounds, parades);
  • Entertainment and Media (e.g., motion picture studios, broadcast media);
  • Real Estate (e.g., office and apartment buildings, condominiums, mixed use facilities, self-storage); and
  • Retail (e.g., retail centers and districts, shopping malls).

Sector-Specific Plan

The Commercial Facilities Sector-Specific Plan (PDF, 174 pages – 1.46 MB) details how the National Infrastructure Protection Plan risk management framework is implemented within the context of the unique characteristics and risk landscape of the sector. Each Sector-Specific Agency develops a sector-specifc plan through a coordinated effort involving its public and private sector partners. The Department of Homeland Security is designated as the Sector-Specific Agency for the Commercial Facilities Sector.

Sector Resources

Sector Training

Last Published Date: June 10, 2014
Back to Top