US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Federal Network Resilience

Within the Office of Cybersecurity and Communications (CS&C), the Federal Network Resilience (FNR) division is responsible for developing innovative approaches to drive change in cybersecurity risk management by focusing on establishing metrics that have measureable impact on improving cybersecurity for Federal Civilian Executive Branch departments and agencies; gathering cybersecurity requirements and developing operational policies for the federal government; collaborating with, and providing outreach to, the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Federal Chief Information Officer (CIO) Council, and individual agency Chief Information (CIOs) and Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs); and leveraging best practices across CS&C and lessons learned in support of Federal Civilian Executive Branch departments' and agencies' cyber hygiene.

The three branches of FNR include:

  • Cybersecurity Assurance Branch (CAB): Assesses the state of operational readiness and cybersecurity risk across Federal Civilian Executive Branch departments and agencies
  • Cybersecurity Performance Management (CPM) Branch: Provides measurement, analysis, and operational support for Federal Civilian Executive Branch departments and agencies in their compliance with government-wide FISMA requirements
  • Integrated Cybersecurity Services (ICS) Branch: Responsible for the operational management and outreach/engagement activities of the division, including defining and implementing department and agency customer requirements

FNR Partners

FNR partners with the public and private sector to build cohesion and enhance the security, resiliency, and reliability of the nation's cyber and communications infrastructure. FNR partners include:


The FNR division operates under the following authorities:


Last Published Date: January 8, 2016

Was this page helpful?

Back to Top