US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC)

About the HSAAC

The Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC) provides advice and recommendations to the Secretary and senior leadership on matters related to homeland security and the academic community, including: student and recent graduate recruitment; international students; academic research and faculty exchanges; campus resilience; homeland security academic programs; and cybersecurity.

 HSAAC Members

Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC) Members:

Dr. R. Bowen Loftin, Chairman

  • Dr. R. Bowen Loftin, Chancellor, University of Missouri
  • Dr. Joseph E. Aoun, President, Northeastern University
  • Dr. Lezli Baskerville, President & CEO, National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO)
  • Ms. Carrie L. Billy, President & CEO, American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC)
  • Ms. Molly Corbett Broad, President, American Council on Education (ACE)
  • Dr. Walter G. Bumphus, President & CEO, American Association of Community Colleges (AACC)
  • Dr. David M. Dooley, President, University of Rhode Island
  • Dr. Royce C. Engstrom, President, University of Montana
  • Dr. Antonio R. Flores, President & CEO, Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities (HACU)
  • Dr. Peter J. Fos, President, The University of New Orleans
  • Dr. Rufus Glasper, Chancellor, Maricopa Community Colleges
  • Dr. Patrick T. Harker, President, University of Delaware
  • Ms. Marlene M. Johnson, Executive Director & CEO, Association of International Educators (NAFSA)
  • Dr. Eric W. Kaler, President, University of Minnesota
  • Hon. Ruby G. Moy, President & CEO, Asian American & Pacific Islander Association of Colleges and Universities (APIACU)
  • Dr. Mohammad H. Qayoumi, President, San José State University
  • Rear Admiral Sandra Stosz, Superintendent, U.S. Coast Guard Academy
  • Mr. David Adams (Ex-Officio), Senior Policy Advisor for Law Enforcement, U.S. Department of Justice
  • Mr. David Esquith (Ex-Officio), Director, Office of Safe and Healthy Students, U.S. Department of Education
  • Mr. Edward Ramotowski (Ex-Officio), Deputy Assistant Secretary for Visa Services, U.S. Department of State


HSAAC Materials

Past Meetings

April 22nd, 2015

October 22nd, 2014

March 19th, 2014

July 17th, 2013

March 20th, 2013

October 24th, 2012

July 10th, 2012

March 20th, 2012

Press Releases and Blog Posts

Last Published Date: June 25, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Back to Top