US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Information Systems Security Line of Business Security and Awareness Training

Information Systems Security Line of Business (ISSLoB) Security and Awareness Training (SAT) Shared Service Centers (SSCs) provide common suites of information systems security training products and services for the federal government. Organizing SAT SSCs under the ISSLoB standardizes skills and competencies in order to align with nationally recognized credentials, such as the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) guidance and the National Initiative for Cybersecurity Education (NICE), for government Information System Security (ISS) roles.  The ISSLoB SSCs provide a repository of government sponsored or approved training products and sources that will reach all levels of government executives. The current ISSLoB offering is organized into two training tiers:

Tier I: General Security Awareness Training Services and Content

Security Awareness Training consists of basic security training that is mandated for all personnel in government. There are currently four ISSLoB designated SSCs that provide this service to the federal government:


For LMS integrations information, please visit the FAQ Repository (log-in required) 

Tier II: Role-Based Security Training

The goal of the ISSLOB Tier II training is to provide specific Information Systems Security professionals with education targeted to their roles.  Additionally, SAT Tier II will help agencies fulfill training requirements and ensure a skilled and capable workforce is able to perform its tasks and meet the role-based training requirements mandated by FISMA (2002) and OPM CFR 930.301 (2004) while following the guidance published by the Committee of National Security Systems (CNSS), NICE, and NIST. There are currently four ISSLoB designated Shared Service Providers for role based training:

  • Department of Defense (DOD)
  • Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
  • National Aeronautical and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Department of State (DOS)



Information Assurance Education, Training, and Awareness Catalog

Note: customization/tailoring is not available for DOD Tier II training offerings


NASA IT Security Awareness Training Center (ITSATC)Programs

Contact NASA POC:


Role-Based Competency Model and Security Curriculum



Instructor-led Role-based Cybersecurity and Information Assurance Training

Contact DOS POC: Caren Saxe, Chief, Information Assurance Branch,


For more information, please contact

Last Published Date: December 9, 2014
Back to Top