US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security


Background: SAFECOM Program

Through collaboration with emergency responders and policymakers across all levels of government, the SAFECOM Program works to improve multi-jurisdictional and intergovernmental communications interoperability.  Its membership includes more than 70 members representing State and local emergency responders, and major intergovernmental and national public safety associations, who provide input on the challenges, needs, and best practices involving emergency communications. 

SAFECOM is an emergency communications program of the Department of Homeland Security’s Office of Emergency Communications (OEC). OEC develops policy, guidance, and future efforts by drawing on SAFECOM member expertise and recommendations.  This process has resulted in several key emergency communications initiatives including development of the National Emergency Communications Plan (NECP), the nation’s first strategic plan to enhance emergency communications, and the SAFECOM Interoperability Continuum, a tool developed by emergency responders that identifies the five critical elements that must be addressed to achieve optimal interoperable conditions to respond to an event.  

Through bi-annual meetings and regular working groups, SAFECOM has been responsible for numerous planning, guidance, and policy documents since its inception.  SAFECOM members have contributed to the development of guidance documents such as the annual SAFECOM Recommended Guidance for Federal Grant Programs, Statewide Communication Interoperability Plan (SCIP) Methodology, and the Public Safety Communications Evolution Brochure.

SAFECOM Membership and Representation

As a stakeholder-driven program, SAFECOM is led by an Executive Committee, in support of the Emergency Response Council. The SAFECOM Executive Committee and Emergency Response Council work with existing Federal communications programs and key emergency response stakeholders to address the need to develop better technologies and processes for the multi-jurisdictional and cross-disciplinary coordination of existing communications systems and future networks. The two bodies consist of the following member representatives:

SAFECOM Executive Committee Members

Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials, International (APCO)
International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP)
International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
Major Cities Chiefs Association (MCCA)
Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association (Metro Chiefs)
National Association of Counties (NACo)
National Association of State EMS Officials (NASEMSO)
National EMS Management Association (NEMSMA)
National Governors Association (NGA)
National League of Cities (NLC)
National Public Safety Telecommunications Council (NPSTC)
National Sheriffs Association (NSA)
US Conference of Mayors (USCM)

SAFECOM Emergency Response Council Members

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
American Public Transportation Association
American Public Works Association
Forestry Conservation Communications Association
Inter Agency Board
International Association of Emergency Managers
International Municipal Signal Association
Major County Sheriffs Association
National Association of Regional Councils
National Association of State Technology Directors
National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors
National Congress of American Indians
National Council of Statewide Interoperability Coordinators
National Criminal Justice Association
National Emergency Management Association
National Emergency Number Association
National Native American Law Enforcement Association
SEARCH, National Consortium for Justice Information and Statistics

In addition, both the EC and ERC have several public safety at-large members representing State and local public safety agencies and government officials from across the country.

Last Published Date: January 11, 2013
Back to Top