US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

SHARES Coordination Network (SCN) Operational Levels

Current Operational Level 3

Operational Levels are designed to improve the responsiveness of the SCN during emergencies. SCN Operational Levels are defined as follows:

  • Operational Level 3 - Conditions normal. No emergency exists. The ten-channel SCN may be used by SHARES station personnel for training and non-emergency operations.
  • Operational Level 2 - Emergency potential exists. Non-emergency operations on the SCN suspended. SCN monitoring increased. Communications operations established on the National and Regional nets to receive Stations Availability Reports.
  • Operational Level 1 - Emergency exists. SHARES message support required. National and regional nets maintain full-period operations to receive Station Availability Reports, to list SHARES message traffic, and to coordinate the processing of SHARES messages.
Last Published Date: August 15, 2014
Back to Top