US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Science & Technology Directorate Centers of Excellence

Image of a scientist

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Science & Technology Directorate (S&T) Centers of Excellence (COE) network is an extended consortium of hundreds of universities generating ground-breaking ideas for new technologies and critical knowledge, while also relying on each other's capabilities to serve the Department's many mission needs.

All COEs work closely with academia, industry, Department components and first-responders to develop customer-driven research solutions to 'on the ground' challenges as well as provide essential training to the next generation of homeland security experts. The research portfolio is a mix of basic and applied research addressing both short and long-term needs. The COE extended network is also available for rapid response efforts.

Managed through the S&T Directorate's Office of University Programs, the COEs organize leading experts and researchers to conduct multidisciplinary homeland security research and education. Each center is university-led or co-led in collaboration with partners from other institutions, agencies, national laboratories, think tanks and the private sector.

Centers of Excellence

There are currently 12 Centers of Excellence across the country.


From the Homeland Security Act of 2002:

“The Secretary, acting through the Under Secretary for Science and Technology, shall designate a university-based center or several university-based centers for homeland security. The purpose of the center or these centers shall be to establish a coordinated, university-based system to enhance the nation’s homeland security.”

Last Published Date: October 17, 2014
Back to Top