Infrastructure Security Compliance Division

Infrastructure Security Compliance Division

Large storage tanks at a chemical facilityThe Infrastructure Security Compliance Division (ISCD) is a division within the Infrastructure Security Division of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA). This division is responsible for implementing the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS), the nation’s program to regulate security at high-risk chemical facilities, and a proposed Ammonium Nitrate Security Program.

ISCD Mission

To further the Infrastructure Security division's mission of enhancing security and resilience for the nation's critical infrastructure, ISCD leads the nation's effort to secure America’s high-risk chemical facilities and prevent the use of certain chemicals in a terrorist act on the homeland through the systematic regulation, inspection, and enforcement of chemical infrastructure security requirements.

More About the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS)

Initially authorized by Congress in 2007, the program uses a risk assessment process to identify high-risk chemical facilities. Facilities identified as high-risk must meet and maintain performance-based security standards appropriate to the facilities and the risks they pose. DHS chemical security inspectors work in all 50 states to help ensure facilities have security measures in place to meet CFATS requirements.

On December 18, 2014, the Protecting and Securing Chemical Facilities from Terrorist Attacks Act of 2014 (“the CFATS Act of 2014”), was signed into law. This Act recodified and reauthorized the CFATS program for four years.

NOTE: ISCD's chemical security standards program should not be confused with the voluntary security activities within the Chemical Sector.


Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top