U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

DHS Law Enforcement Overview

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is the largest federal law enforcement agency with approximately 80,000 officers across nine agencies and offices:

  • U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP),
  • U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE),
  • U.S. Secret Service (USSS),
  • U.S. Coast Guard (USCG),
  • Transportation Security Agency (TSA),
  • Federal Protective Service (FPS),
  • Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers’ Office of Security and Professional Responsibility (FLETC),
  • Office of the Chief Security Officer (OCSO), and
  • Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Mount Weather Police Department (FEMA).

DHS also works closely with the Department of Justice and the Department of the Interior, as well as other federal, state, local, tribal, territorial, and international law enforcement agencies to safeguard the nation.

  • U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP)

    CBP's priority mission is to keep terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S. CBP also secures and facilitates trade and travel while enforcing regulations, including immigration and drug laws.

  • U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)

    ICE promotes homeland security and public safety through the criminal and civil enforcement of federal laws governing border control, customs, trade, and immigration.

  • U.S. Secret Service (USSS)

    USSS safeguards the nation's financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and protects national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites, and National Special Security Events.

  • U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)

    USCG is the only military organization within DHS and protects the maritime economy and the environment, defends our maritime borders, and saves those at risk.

  • Transportation Security Administration (TSA)

    TSA protects the nation's transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.

  • Federal Protective Service (FPS)

    FPS uses its security expertise and law enforcement authority to protect federal government facilities and safeguard the millions of employees and visitors who pass through them every day.

  • Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers (FLETC)

    FLETC provides career-long training to law enforcement professionals to help them fulfill their responsibilities safely and proficiently.

  • Office of the Chief Security Officer (OCSO)

    OCSO is a DHS Headquarters element located within the Management Directorate. The OCSO Mission is to deliver enterprise-wide security solutions to protect the Department's people, information and resources against constant evolving threats.

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

    FEMA supports our citizens and first responders to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Last Updated: 04/27/2023
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content