US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Network and Infrastructure Security

Federal Network Resilience's Network and Infrastructure Security (NIS) branch optimizes federal agency network services into a common baseline security solution for the federal government. NIS provides network security support to federal departments and agencies by clarifying and overseeing federal security policy issues found during implementation of security initiatives. NIS champions the use of shared services and ensures that the right security information is shared throughout the federal government.


The NIS branch supports the goals of the Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative (CNCI), specifically Initiative 1, “Manage the Federal Enterprise Network as a single network enterprise with Trusted Internet Connections,” which is commonly referred to as the “Trusted Internet Connections (TIC) Initiative.”

NIS is responsible for the oversight of the TIC initiative, development of Federal Network Resilience Reference Architectures for federal civilian agencies, and other related government-wide network and infrastructure security efforts.

Trusted Internet Connection (TIC) Initiative

You may find information about TIC Access Providers and Agencies Seeking Service on the Trusted Internet Connections Web page. You may also find information on:

FNR Reference Architectures

NIS is currently developing Reference Architectures that focus on improving the cybersecurity posture across federal civilian agencies by:

  1. Addressing all known vulnerabilities, challenges, policies, and standards for specific technologies;
  2. Documenting and sharing the best practices implemented by federal agencies; and
  3. Building a collaborative community that addresses current and future cyber security challenges.

The most current approved FNR Reference Architectures are listed below:

  • Domain Name System (DNS) Security Reference Architecture
  • Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) Reference Architecture
  • Email Gateway Reference Architecture
  • Telework Reference Architecture
  • Trusted Internet Connections (TIC) Reference Architecture 2.0
  • Mobile Security Reference Architecture Part A

Small & Micro-Agency Cybersecurity Support Initiative

The Small and Micro-Agency Cybersecurity Support Initiative (SMCS) supports the cybersecurity efforts of small and micro-agencies in the federal civilian executive branch by assisting agencies to analyze issues, identify best practices, and develop and offer need-based solutions that improve cybersecurity, enhance network resilience, and meet agency mission requirements.

For additional information on NIS, please contact or Sara Mosley, Branch Chief, Network and Infrastructure Security, Federal Network Resilience 


Last Published Date: February 19, 2015
Back to Top