US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

U.S. Flag and Keyboard

The Nuclear Security Summit

On Monday and Tuesday, April 12-13, the Nuclear Security Summit will be held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C. The leaders of nearly 50 nations will participate in the Summit.

Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano declared the Nuclear Security Summit a National Special Security Event (NSSE), which makes it the 37th NSSE held since the designation was established in 1998. When an event is designated as an NSSE, the United States Secret Service assumes its mandated role as the lead agency for the design and implementation of the operational security plan.

As with all NSSEs, the Secret Service relies on established relationships with public safety officials and law enforcement agencies at the local, state and federal levels. The goal of the cooperating agencies is to provide a safe and secure environment for Secret Service protectees, other dignitaries, the event participants and the general public.

Read the transportation and security plan for the Nuclear Security Summit, including street closures and parking restrictions.

In addition to the Secret Service, a number of DHS agencies are involved in the planning process, including: the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the United States Coast Guard and the Transportation Security Administration. Other local, federal and military partners include:
  • Metropolitan Police Dept
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Federal Aviation Administration
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
  • U.S. Capitol Police
  • U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia
  • U.S. Park Police
  • National Park Service
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • U.S. Health and Human Services
  • U.S. Department of State
  • Joint Force HQ- National Capital Region
  • D.C. Office of the Mayor
  • D.C. Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency
  • D.C. Department of Transportation
  • D.C. Department of Public Works
  • D.C. Fire and EMS
  • Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority
  • Fairfax County Government
  • Washington Convention Center
Published by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Washington, D.C.
Back to Top