You are here

Profiles on Legal Permanent Residents: 2004 Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) of Residence

Lawful permanent residents (LPRs) are foreign nationals who have been granted the right to reside permanently in the United States. LPRs are often referred to simply as "immigrants," but they are also known as "permanent resident aliens" and "green card holders."

Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) of Residence

To generate a profile, scroll down to choose an MSA of residence from the list below. The profiles are in Microsoft Excel format.

What are MSAs?

Metropolitan Statistical Areas, or MSAs, consist of a core area with a large population and adjacent communities having a high degree of social and economic integration with the core. They are defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB). MSAs are generally counties (cities and towns in New England) containing at least one city or urbanized area with a population of at least 50,000 and a total metropolitan population of at least 100,000 (75,000 in New England). MSAs of one million or more population may be recognized as Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Areas (CMSAs). Primary Metropolitan Statistical Areas (PSMAs) are component areas within MSAs. New England County Metropolitan Areas (NECMAs) are the county based metropolitan alternative of the New England states for the city and town based MSAs and CMSAs.

Last Published Date: July 27, 2015

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top