US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Regional Resiliency Assessment Program

The Regional Resiliency Assessment Program (RRAP) is a voluntary assessment of specific critical infrastructure and an analysis of the surrounding regional infrastructure.

Each year, the Department of Homeland Security selects RRAP projects with input and guidance from federal and state partners. RRAP projects focus on specific infrastructure sectors within geographic areas and address a range of hazards that may have significant regional and national consequences.

The intent of the program is to mitigate the nation’s risk of loss of life and physical and economic damage from natural and manmade hazards. Through an RRAP assessment, the Department:

  • Evaluates critical infrastructure on a regional level to examine threats, vulnerabilities, and potential consequences from an all-hazards perspective.
  • Identifies dependencies, interdependencies, cascading effects, resilience characteristics, and gaps.
  • Assesses the status of the integrated preparedness and protection capabilities of critical infrastructure owners and operators, local law enforcement, and emergency response organizations.
  • Coordinates protection and response efforts to enhance resilience and address security gaps within the geographic region.
  • Focuses on certain sectors:


Strong partnerships with state, local, territorial, and tribal government officials are vital to the RRAP process. The RRAP relies on engagement and information sharing with:

  • Federal agencies.
  • Private sector facility owners and operators.
  • Law enforcement.
  • Emergency response organizations.
  • Academic institutions and other stakeholders.

RRAP projects involve comprehensive, year-long efforts that can incorporate opportunities for valuable information and data exchanges, including:

  • Voluntary facility vulnerability assessments and security surveys.
  • First responder capability assessments.
  • Targeted studies and modeling.
  • Subject matter expert workshops.

RRAP Projects May Include:


Each RRAP produces a Resiliency Assessment report with key findings.

  • Key findings concentrate on regionally significant issues tied to the RRAP focus and present options for consideration for enhanced resilience.
  • Key findings are reviewed by RRAP participants prior to publication, can be used as a model for resilience improvements in similar situations beyond the immediate project, and serve as the basis for follow-up activities.
  • Facility owners and operators, regional organizations, and government agencies use the Resiliency Assessment and key findings to guide strategic investments in equipment, planning, training, and resources to enhance the resilience and protection of facilities, surrounding communities, and entire regions.

Fiscal Year 2014 RRAP Projects

Ten RRAPs will be conducted in fiscal year 2014:

  1. Alaska (Cross Border, Phase I)
  2. California
  3. Charlotte, NC
  4. Columbia Basin (Phase II)
  5. Florida
  6. Hawaii
  7. Maine
  8. Mobile, AL
  9. New Jersey
  10. Savannah, GA

Additional Information

Please download our RRAP fact sheet (PDF, 2 pages - 297 KB) or e-mail

Last Published Date: April 2, 2015
Back to Top