You are here

SAFECOM Membership

SAFECOM Membership

SAFECOM is one of the first organizations to bring together representatives from public safety associations as well as emergency responders in the field. Its membership includes more than 60 members representing Federal, State, local, tribal, and territorial emergency responders, and major intergovernmental and national public safety associations. Below is a list of SAFECOM members and the organizations and associations they represent.

2019 SAFECOM Executive Board

SAFECOM's Executive Board serves as SAFECOM's leadership group and the primary resource for access to public safety stakeholders and policymakers.

  • SAFECOM Chair: Gerald Reardon
  • SAFECOM First Vice Chair: Chris Lombard
  • SAFECOM Second Vice Chair: Michael Murphy
  • Governance Committee Chair: George Perera
  • Education and Outreach Committee Chair: Chris Lombard
  • Funding and Sustainment Committee Chair: Lloyd Mitchell
  • Technology Policy Committee Chair: Gerald Reardon
  • SAFECOM Board Member: Anthony Catalanotto
  • SAFECOM Board Member: TBD
  • SAFECOM Board Member: TBD
  • SAFECOM Board Member: TBD

SAFECOM Membership

Membership Associations and Organizations

SAFECOM's membership includes representatives from a wide array of public safety associations and organizations.

*denotes primary member

SAFECOM Public Safety At-Large Members

All at-large members represent a relevant discipline within the public safety community.

  • Stark County Sheriff's Office, Ohio (Darryl Anderson, Interoperable Communications Specialist)
  • Willamette Valley 9-1-1, Oregon (Mark Buchholz, Director)
  • Orange County Department of Emergency Services, New York (Chris Carney, Communications System Specialist)
  • Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services Communications and Interoperability Working Group, New York (Anthony Catalanotto, Member)
  • Ulster County 9-1-1 Emergency Communications, New York (Michael Davis, Emergency Services Dispatcher)
  • Springfield Emergency Communications Department, Massachusetts (Jeremy DeMar, Director)
  • Merrionette Park Fire Department, Illinois (Len Edling, Fire Chief)
  • Fairfax County Fire & Rescue, Virginia (Sean Fensterwald, Master Technician/Deputy Program Manager- Operations)
  • City of Tulsa, Oklahoma (Mark Hogan, Director of Asset Management)
  • Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services Communications and Interoperability Working Group, New York (Jay Kopstein, Co-Chair)
  • Kalispel Tribal Public Safety Department, Washington (Tom Ling, Operations Specialist/EMT)
  • Seattle Fire Department, Washington (Chris Lombard, Battalion Chief- Communications/Special Operations)
  • Texas A&M University, Texas (Walt Magnussen, Director of Technology Evaluation Center)
  • Baker Police Department, Louisiana (Michael Murphy, Communications and Technology Specialist)
  • Utah Department of Health (Paul Patrick, Division Director)
  • Miami-Dade Police Department, Florida (George Perera, Police Captain)
  • City of Cambridge Fire Department, Massachusetts (Gerald Reardon, Senior Advisor, Retired Fire Chief)
  • Port of Houston Authority, Texas (Colin Rizzo, Emergency Manager)
  • Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (J.M. Rowe, Communications Coordinator)
  • Wireless Information Network, Arkansas (Penny Rubow, Program Manager)
  • Massachusetts Port Authority, Massachusetts (Steve Staffier, Communications/Interoperability Coordinator)
  • City of Redwing & Lower Sioux Indian Community, Minnesota (Chad Steffen, Patrol Officer/COML, COMT Administrator)
  • New Hampshire Department of Safety, New Hampshire (John Stevens, SWIC/SPOC)
  • Metropolitan Transportation Authority Police Department, New York (John Vallarelli, Lieutenant/Executive Officer)
  • Officer of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications, Connecticut (Steve Verbil, Emergency Telecommunications Manager)
  • Town of West Hartford, Connecticut (Keith Victor, Communications System Manager)

SAFECOM Federal Members

SAFECOM's membership includes representation from government agencies.

SAFECOM Membership Applications

Please complete the appropriate application below and submit to

SAFECOM Membership Application Form for Associations

SAFECOM Membership Application Form for At-Large Members

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:

Microsite Carousel

Back to Top