The Federal Protective Service

Mission Statement

To prevent, protect, respond to and recover from terrorism, criminal acts, and other hazards threatening the U.S. Government’s critical infrastructure, services, and the people who provide or receive them.

For VisitorsWhat We Do

2017 Police Week FPS Wreath Laying Ceremony

Protective Services of FPS

  • Conducting Facility Security Assessments
  • Designing countermeasures for tenant agencies
  • Maintaining uniformed law enforcement presence
  • Maintaining armed contract security guards
  • Performing background suitability checks for contract employees
  • Offering special operations including K-9 explosive detection
  • Monitoring security alarms via centralized communication centers
  • Conducting criminal investigations
  • Sharing intelligence among local/state/federal
  • Protecting special events
  • Training federal tenants in crime prevention and occupant emergency planning

Federal Building Visitor Regulations

Leadership and Organization

The Federal Protective Service is headed by Director L. Eric Patterson.

The Federal Protective Service's area of responsibility covers the continental United States and U.S. territories. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., FPS is divided into 11 regions nationwide and is responsible for protecting over 9,000 Federal Facilities. Regional headquarters are located in metropolitan areas across the country, with approximately 200 field offices and 4 Mega Centers provide responses to over 534,000 calls for service annually.

FPS Annual Report

More Information

Last Published Date: July 17, 2018

The Federal Protective Service News & Updates RSS Icon

Jan 19

Beginning February 5, 2018, residents of American Samoa will no longer be able to use territory-issued driver’s licenses or identification cards to fly domestically, or enter federal buildings and military installations.

Jan 19

Beginning February 5, 2018, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) will begin enforcing compliance with the Real ID Act to better protect the American people. Fifty-five out of fifty-six states and territories are currently compliant or have received an extension until October 10, 2018. Passengers who have licenses issued by a state or territory that is compliant or has an extension to become compliant with REAL ID requirements may continue to use their licenses as usual.

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top