US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

WPS Eligibility

Wireless Priority Service (WPS) supports federal, state, local, tribal and territorial governments; emergency response personnel; critical infrastructure sectors in industry; and non-governmental organizations in performing their national security and emergency preparedness (NS/EP) missions. Typical WPS users are responsible for the command and control functions critical to management of and response to national security and emergency situations, particularly during the first 24 to 72 hours following an event.

WPS users typically fall under one of five categories of WPS NS/EP eligibility criteria established by the Federal Communications Commission. When requesting WPS online, organizations indicate their eligibility by selecting which of the following categories they qualify under:

  • Executive Leadership and Policy Makers
  • Disaster Response/Military Command and Control
  • Public Health, Safety and Law Enforcement Command
  • Public Services/Utilities and Public Welfare
  • Disaster Recovery

Additional information on these five categories can be found in the WPS Eligibility Criteria document.

Last Published Date: October 20, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Back to Top