US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Government Roles

Everyone has a role to play in combating human trafficking. DHS and its components work across their missions to combat human trafficking every day. U.S. Immigration Customs Enforcement (ICE) investigates both international and domestic human trafficking cases. U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and ICE provide immigration relief to trafficking victims. Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC) provides training to law enforcement professionals on how to identify indicators of human trafficking and how to conduct human trafficking investigations. U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is in a unique position to detect trafficking on our borders, as are U.S. Coast Guard on the high seas, Transportation Security Administration in airports, and  Federal Emergency Management Agency in disaster areas.

As part of their efforts through the Blue Campaign, the DHS components produce training and informational videos and materials and public awareness campaigns, provide victim assistance and conduct investigative efforts, and establish partnerships, outreach, and online resources. DHS coordinates and unites these initiatives under the One DHS Blue Campaign to combat human trafficking. To learn more about current initiatives visit each agency’s website.

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

ICE investigates cases of human trafficking and provides support to victims. ICE accomplishes this mission by making full use of its authorities and expertise, stripping away the traffickers’ assets and profit incentives, collaborating with U.S. and foreign partners to attack networks worldwide and working in partnership with non-governmental organizations to identify, rescue and provide assistance to trafficking victims. Click here to learn more about ICE anti-human trafficking efforts.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

USCIS helps protect victims of human trafficking and other crimes by providing immigration relief. Two types of immigration relief for victims of human trafficking and other crimes are available through USCIS: T Nonimmigrant Status (T Visa) and U Nonimmigrant Status (U Visa). Click here to learn more about USCIS efforts to protect victims.

Federal Law Enforcement Training Center

FLETC provides career-long training to law enforcement professionals on how to identify indicators of human trafficking, immigration options available for potential trafficking victims, and how to conduct human trafficking investigations. FLETC developed a web-based human trafficking training course that teaches officers how to recognize human trafficking encountered during routine duties, how to protect victims, and how to initiate human trafficking investigations. Click here to learn more about FLETC and its available training. 

U.S. Customs and Border Protection

CBP’s focus is to prevent human trafficking and identify victims of human trafficking along our nation’s borders and at our ports of entry. With more than 42,000 frontline CBP officers and Border Patrol agents protecting nearly 7,000 miles of land border and 327 ports of entry—including official crossings by land, air, and sea—CBP is uniquely situated to deter and disrupt human trafficking. Click here to learn more about CBP anti-human trafficking efforts.

For information about Blue Campaign events with DHS agency highlights, click here to learn more.

Across the U.S. Government

In the United States, the President’s Interagency Task Force to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons (PITF) brings together federal departments and agencies to ensure a whole-of-government approach that addresses all aspects of human trafficking—enforcement of criminal and labor law, victim identification and protection, education and public awareness, international trade and development, enhanced partnerships and research opportunities, and international engagement and diplomacy. The member and invited agencies of the PITF are the Departments of State, Defense, Justice, Interior, Agriculture, Labor, Health and Human Services, Transportation, Education, and Homeland Security, as well as the Office of Management and Budget, the National Security Staff, the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, the Domestic Policy Council, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the U.S. Agency for International Development, and the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. As part of the PITF, these agencies convene routinely to coordinate federal policies that combat trafficking in persons and implementation of the Trafficking Victims Protection Act.

For more information about the U.S. government’s efforts to combat human trafficking view, the PITF accomplishment report, and visit each agency’s website.

Last Published Date: December 22, 2014
Back to Top