US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Enhanced Cybersecurity Services (ECS)

The Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) Enhanced Cybersecurity Services (ECS) program is an intrusion prevention capability that helps U.S.-based companies protect their computer systems against unauthorized access, exploitation, and data exfiltration. ECS works by sharing sensitive and classified cyber threat information with accredited Commercial Service Providers (CSPs). These CSPs in turn use that information to block certain types of malicious traffic from entering customer networks. ECS is meant to augment, but not replace, existing cybersecurity capabilities.


Service Offerings

The ECS program currently offers three service offerings:

  • Domain Name Service (DNS) Sinkholing, which blocks access to specified malicious domain names;
  • Email (SMTP) Filtering, which blocks email with specified malicious criteria from entering a network; and
  • Netflow Analysis, which uses passive detection to identify threats.

The ECS program continues to consider additional services that can use government-vetted cyber threat indicators to enhance the protection of U.S.-based organizations.


The ECS program embeds privacy protections into all of its operations. ECS does not monitor any private networks or collect any communications, directly or by proxy. DHS uses the Fair Information Practice Principles (FIPPs) to assess and mitigate impacts on an individual’s privacy. DHS has conducted and published a Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) for the ECS program. To read more about the FIPPs, the ECS PIA, and related cyber programs, visit DHS's Cybersecurity and Privacy page.


All U.S.-based public and private entities are eligible to enroll in ECS. Program participation is voluntary and designed to protect government intelligence, corporate information security, and the privacy of participants. Four CSPs are accredited to provide ECS:

U.S.-based organizations interested in participating or learning more about service-level options and agreements should contact an ECS CSP directly.

Sector Specific Agencies

Sector Specific Agencies (SSAs) and DHS form a critical partnership within the ECS program. SSAs leverage existing relationships with critical infrastructure entities in order to expand and improve ECS. SSAs are also responsible for helping to characterize risks and threats unique to critical infrastructure entities in their respective sectors. This characterization enables the federal government to deliver the most effective indicators relevant to ECS customer needs.

Contact Information

For more information, download the ECS fact sheet or contact

Last Published Date: March 25, 2016

Was this page helpful?

Back to Top