U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About DHS
  3. Site Links
  4. Accessibility


The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) ensures accessible Information and Communication Technology (ICT) for individuals with disabilities, including members of the public, federal employees, and applicants. DHS is guided by the requirements of Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. 794d).

Section 508 requires individuals with disabilities have access to and use ICT information and data comparable to individuals without disabilities (i.e., “ICT accessibility”), unless there is undue burden on the providing agency. Section 508 standards are technical requirements and criteria to measure conformance with the law. The standards incorporate the W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0.  Agencies ensure compliance during the procurement, development, maintenance, or use of ICT.

More information on Section 508 and the technical standards are on Section508.gov.

The Accessibility and Language Services Division, formerly known as the Office of Accessible Systems & Technology (OAST), is in the DHS Customer Experience Directorate (CXD). The Division guides and supports all Components in removing barriers to information access. It also supports employment of qualified individuals with disabilities under the requirements of Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, (as amended).

If you believe that the ICT used by DHS does not comply with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act, you may file a complaint. Follow the steps outlined on the Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Make a Civil Rights Complaint page, using the optional DHS Technology Accessibility Issue Reporting Form.

For general inquiries please email Accessibility@hq.dhs.gov. To make sure we respond in a manner most helpful to you, please share:

  • the nature of your accessibility problem
  • the best format in which to receive the material
  • the web address (URL) of the material with which you are having difficulty, and
  • your contact information.

Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. § 794)

DHS commits to providing reasonable accommodations for employees and applicants as required by Section 501 of the Rehabilitation Act, and amended by the Americans with Disabilities Act. DHS provides reasonable accommodations for known physical or mental limitations of employees and applicants with disabilities unless there is demonstrated undue hardship on operations. For more information, please visit the DHS Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, Equal Employment Opportunity and Diversity Division’s, Reasonable Accommodations page.

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. § 794)

DHS is committed to strengthening and supporting full inclusion and equal opportunity for persons with disabilities in its programs and activities, through enforcement and compliance with requirements of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, including Section 504. DHS Section 504 Policy and resources

Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 (42 U.S.C. §§ 4151--57)

The Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) requires access to facilities designed, built, altered, or leased with Federal funds. The Access Board is the federal agency responsible for enforcing the ABA. The Access Board's accessibility standards are available on the US Access Board website.

If you believe a physical facility that is designed, built, altered, or leased with Federal funds by the DHS does not comply with the Architectural Barriers Act (ABA), go to the US Access Board’s website under ABA  Enforcement – File a Complaint.

Customer Experience Directorate
Department of Homeland Security
Washington, DC 20528

Phone: 202-447-0440
Fax: 202-447-0582
E-mail: accessibility@hq.dhs.gov

If you have a hearing or a speech disability, you can use telecommunications relay services (TRS) at no cost. Use a videophone or dial 7-1-1. You can learn more about TRS from the Federal Communications Commission’s website.

Last Updated: 05/01/2024
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content