You are here


Accessibility Requirements

Accessibility Requirements

Learn about DHS Section 508 accessibility requirements for information and communications technology products and services.

Section 508 Training

The Department of Homeland Security is committed to providing free online training resources to assist with creating, validating, and remediating accessible electronic content for conformance to the Section 508 standards.

Section 508 Testing

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Office of Accessible Systems & Technology (OAST) has a mission to provide strategic direction, technical support, and training to ensure agency employees and customers with disabilities have equal access to information and data. Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C. 794d), requires all federal departments and agencies to ensure that their information and communications technology (ICT) is accessible to people with disabilities.

Reasonable Accommodation Guidance for DHS Recipients

The Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties provides technical assistance and guidance to DHS recipients in meeting their obligations under federal civil rights laws, which includes providing reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities. The following documents provide information that can assist recipients in developing a reasonable accommodation notice and process for persons with disabilities.  A reasonable accommodation is a change of or modification to afford a qualified individual with a disability full enjoyment of a recipient’s programs or activities, unless modifications of policies, practices, and procedures would fundamentally alter the nature of the program, service, or activity, or result in undue financial and administrative burdens to the recipient.

Reasonable Accommodations at DHS

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is committed to providing reasonable accommodations for employees and applicants.  DHS provides reasonable accommodations for the known physical or mental limitations of otherwise qualified employees and applicants with disabilities, unless DHS can demonstrate that a particular accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the operation of its programs.

Interagency Trusted Tester Program

The mission of the Interagency Trusted Tester Program is to promote a unified, consistent, sharable, and repeatable test and evaluation approach for Section 508 standards conformance that federal agencies can implement throughout their information technology lifecycle to reduce redundant testing and improve cost savings. This effort supports an overall vision* of improving IT accessibility across government through unified requirements, reviews [test and evaluation], reporting, remediation, and reuse.

Accessibility Training News

The Revised Section 508 Standards were released in January of 2018. All OAST training resources are being updated to support implementation of the Revised Section 508 Standards.


Subscribe to Accessibility
Back to Top