U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About DHS
  3. Leadership


List of senior leaders at the Department. For more information about an individual listed, including a biography, click on their name.

  • Secretary, Alejandro Mayorkas | Secretary's Corner
  • Under Secretary, Management (vacant), Randolph D. "Tex" Alles, Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Under Secretary, Management
  • Under Secretary, Science and Technology, Dr. Dimitri Kusnezov
  • Under Secretary, Office of Intelligence and Analysis, Kenneth L. Wainstein
    • Principal Deputy Under Secretary, Office of Intelligence and Analysis, Avery Alpha
  • Under Secretary, Office of Strategy, Policy, and Plans, Robert Silvers
    • Deputy Under Secretary, Kelli Ann Burriesci
    • Assistant Secretary for Border and Immigration Policy, Royce Murray
    • Assistant Secretary for Counterterrorism, Threat Prevention and Law Enforcement, Jeohn Salone Favors
    • Assistant Secretary for Cyber, Infrastructure, Risk and Resilience, Iranga Kahangama
    • Assistant Secretary for International Affairs (acting), Adam Hunter
    • Assistant Secretary for Trade and Economic Security, Christa Brzozowski
  • Director, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, Ur M. Jaddou
  • Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard, Admiral Linda L. Fagan
  • Commissioner, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (vacant), Troy Miller, Deputy Commissioner and Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Commissioner
    • Deputy Commissioner, U.S. Customs and Border Protection (acting), Pete Flores
    • Chief Operating Officer (acting), James McCament
  • Director, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, Jen Easterly
  • Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Deanne Criswell
    • Deputy Administrator, Erik Hooks
    • Deputy Administrator for Resilience (vacant), Victoria Salinas, Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Deputy Administrator for Resilience
    • U.S. Fire Administrator, Dr. Lori L. Moore-Merrell
  • Director, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers, Benjamine C. Huffman
    • Deputy Director, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers (acting), Ariana M. Roddini
  • Director, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) (vacant), Patrick J. Lechleitner, Deputy Director and Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Director
    • Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Deputy Director, Staci A. Barrera
  • Director, U.S. Secret Service, Kimberly Cheatle
    • Deputy Director, U.S. Secret Service, Ronald L. Rowe, Jr
  • Administrator, Transportation Security Administration, David Pekoske
    • Deputy Administrator, Transportation Security Administration, Holly Canevari
  • Assistant Secretary, Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Office, Mary Ellen Callahan
    • Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Office, Charles Cook
  • Director and Chief Medical Officer, Office of Health Security (acting), Dr. Herbert Wolfe
    • Deputy Director and Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Office of Health Security, Dr. Herbert Wolfe 
  • Assistant Secretary, Office of Legislative Affairs, Zephranie Buetow
    • Deputy Assistant Secretary, Stephanie Doherty (Senate)
    • Deputy Assistant Secretary (acting), Cursten Knott (House)
  • Assistant Secretary, Office of Partnership and Engagement, Fayrouz Saad
    • Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Rebecca K.K. Sternhell
    • Chief of Staff, Nathaniel Snyder
    • Deputy Chief of Staff, Cynthia J. Briscoe
    • Deputy Assistant Secretary, Intergovernmental Affairs (vacant)
    • Deputy Assistant Secretary, Private Sector Office (vacant)
    • Executive Director, Social Impact and Campaigns, Karinda L. Washington
    • Executive Director, Homeland Security Advisory Council (acting), Rebecca Sternhell
    • Senior Director, Non-Governmental Organizations, Nicole Rosich
    • Senior Director and Committee Management Officer, Mike Miron
  • Assistant Secretary, Office of Public Affairs, Daniel Watson
    • Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, Communications, Luis Miranda
    • Deputy Assistant Secretary for Media Relations, Sarah Schakow
    • Deputy Assistant Secretary, Strategic Communications, Jeff Solnet
  • Assistant Secretary, Office for State and Local Law Enforcement, Heather Fong
  • Executive Director, Joint Requirements Council, Joseph D. Wawro
  • Director, Office of Homeland Security Situational Awareness, Christopher J. Tomney
  • Chief Freedom of Information Officer, Mason C. Clutter
  • Chief Privacy Officer, Mason C. Clutter
  • Citizenship and Immigration Services Ombudsman (acting), Nathan Stiefel
    • Citizenship and Immigration Services Deputy Ombudsman, Nathan Stiefel
  • Ombudsman for Immigration Detention, Michelle Brané
  • Officer for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, Shoba Sivaprasad Wadhia
  • Inspector General, Joseph V. Cuffari
Last Updated: 07/19/2024
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content