U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Community Resilience Task Force Membership List

This is an archived task force.

Martin O'Malley (Chair) is the Governor of the State of Maryland. He previously served as Assistant State's Attorney and Mayor of Baltimore City. Governor O'Malley is also a member of the Homeland Security Advisory Council.

Ruth David (Vice Chair) is the President and CEO of Analytic Services, Inc, a nonprofit corporation that operates the Homeland Security Institute. Previously, Dr. David was Deputy Director for Science and Technology at the Central Intelligence Agency. She is a member of the Homeland Security Advisory Council.

Jeff Moss (Vice Chair) is the Director of Black Hat and Tech Web. Mr. Moss previously served as a Director at the Secure Computing Corporation. He is also serving as a member of the Homeland Security Advisory Council.

Ruben Barrales is the President and CEO of the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Barrales previously served in the White House as deputy assistant to former President George W. Bush, where he worked as the President's liaison to state and local elected officials.

Sandra Lopez Burke is the Vice President and Executive Director of City Year Boston. Prior to working at City Year, Ms. Burke worked for the San Antonio Sports Foundation, and helped establish the Dreams for Youth.

Mark Cooper is the Director for the Louisiana Governor's Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness. He has over 18 years of public safety and emergency management experience including service with the Los Angeles County Fire Department as a Deputy Fire Chief, the Los Angeles County Coroner's Office, and the Los Angeles County Police.

Darrel Darnell is Senior Associate Vice President for Safety and Security at George Washington University. Previously he served as the Director of Critical Infrastructure Protection and Resilience Policy as well as the Director of the Preparedness Division for the Department of Homeland Security Headquarters Operational Integration Staff.

Lynn Davis is a Director and Senior Fellow at the RAND Corporation. Prior to working at RAND, Dr. Davis served as Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security Affairs from 1993 to 1997.

Dorothy Dugger is the General Manager of the Bay Area Regional Transit (BART). Prior to BART, Ms. Dugger worked for over ten years at the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.

Mohamed Elibiary is the founder of Lone Star Intelligence, LLC. He is also serving as a member of the Homeland Security Advisory Council.

Stephen Flynn is President of the Center for National Policy. Previously, Dr. Flynn spent ten years as senior fellow for National Security Studies at the Council on Foreign Relations. He also served as the lead policy advisor on homeland security for President Obama's transition team.

Howard Gordon is the Writer and Producer of the television series 24.  Prior to 24, Mr. Gordon was an executive producer and writer for the ground-breaking series The X-Files, and also was the producer for several episodes of Angel and Buffy the Vampire Slayer

LTG Russel L. Honoré is the Commander of Task Force Katrina, in which he led the Department of Defense response to Hurricanes Katrina and Rita in Alabama, Mississippi, and Louisiana. 

Allen Kay is Chairman and CEO of Korey Kay and Partners. Mr. Kay is the advertising executive who designed the successful New York’s Metropolitan Transit Authority’s “See Something, Say Something” campaign. 

D. Wayne Klotz is President of Klotz Associates Inc, a full service civil engineering firm, based in Houston, Texas.  Previously, Mr. Klotz served as National President of American Society of Civil Engineers from 2008-2009.

Carie Lemack is the Co-Founder of Families of September 11.  Previously, she was a visiting fellow at the Center on Global Counterterrorism Cooperation and a term member at the Council on Foreign Relations. She served as producer of Killing in the Name documentary, which was nominated for an Oscar.

William McDonough is the Founding Principal of William McDonough + Partners, an internationally recognized design firm, practicing ecologically, socially, and economically intelligent architecture and planning in the U.S. and abroad.   

Roxane Cohen Silver is a Professor in the Department of Psychology and Social Behavior and the Department of Medicine at the University of California at Irvine. For the past 25 years, Dr. Silver has studied acute and long-term psychological and physical reactions to stressful life events.

Dennis Walaker is Mayor of the City of Fargo, North Dakota, in which he was elected Mayor in June 2006 and reelected in 2010. The City of Fargo hired Mayor Walaker in 1974 as a civil engineer responsible for supervising public works projects. In 1989, he became the City's Public Works Operations Manager.

Deborah Wince-Smith is President and CEO of the Council on Competitiveness, a business-labor-academia coalition that recommends actionable public policy solutions to make America more competitive in the global marketplace. Ms. Wince-Smith previously served as Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Technology Policy in the Administration of President George H.W. Bush.

Last Updated: 08/22/2022
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content