US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

Illicit Trafficking Radiological Assessment Program +10 (ITRAP+10)

Logos of DHS, European JRC, IAEA, Department of EnergyITRAP+10 is an effort initiated by the European Union to evaluate and compare the performance of commercially-available European manufactured radiation detection equipment against standards. The European Commission Joint Research Center invited the U.S. government and the International Atomic Energy Agency to participate in ITRAP+10 to expand this testing to other globally-available systems.

The Department of Homeland Security leads the U.S. government’s participation in ITRAP+10. The Domestic Nuclear Detection Office is the implementing office for the Department.

Collectively, the U.S. and its European partners will have access to nearly 100 devices across nine different categories of detection equipment. To date, devices have been proposed for testing by 27 vendors from 11 different countries.

ITRAP+10 will provide the opportunity to ensure that standards for radiological and nuclear detection devices are clearly defined, comprehensive and realistic. This program’s internationally collaborative features may also help achieve greater homogeneity in U.S. and international detection standards. In addition, ITRAP+10 will allow the U.S. and European partners to better understand how commercially available detection equipment performs and drive industry to technological advances, ultimately ensuring nuclear security success.

Learn More

Last Published Date: July 21, 2015

Was this page helpful?

Back to Top