U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

State and Local Officials Senior Advisory Committee Members, Homeland Security Advisory Council

Below, find a listing of the state officials, local officials, and senior advisory committee members of the Homeland Security Advisory Council.

  • Donald R. Knabe (Chair), Chairman, Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors *
  • Sonny Perdue (Vice Chair), Governor, State of Georgia * 
  • Karen J. Anderson, Former Mayor, Minnetonka, Minnesota, Past President, National League of Cities
  • Michael Balboni, Deputy Secretary for Public Safety, State of New York
  • Jim Douglas, Governor, State of Vermont, President, Council of State Governments
  • James R. Dunlap, Former State Senator, State of Oklahoma
  • Robert A. Eckles, Former Judge, Harris County, State of Texas
  • Peggy Merriss, City Manager, Decatur, Georgia, Past President International City-County Management Association
  • Karen M. Miller, Commissioner, Boone County, Columbia, Missouri, Past President National Association of Counties
  • Douglas H. Palmer, Mayor, Trenton, New Jersey
  • David G. Wallace, Former Mayor, Sugar Land, Texas
  • Thomas J. Wyss, State Senator, State of Indiana
  • Joe Zarelli, State Senator, State of Washington

* denotes full Homeland Security Advisory Council member

Last Updated: 01/23/2023
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content