U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Task Force on Secure Communities Membership List

The Task Force on Secure Communities is a subcommittee of the Homeland Security Advisory Council (HSAC) and was created in June 2011 at the request of DHS Secretary Janet Napolitano. The Task Force was asked to consider how Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) may improve the Secure Communities Program, including how to address some of the concerns about the program that “relate to [its] impact on community policing and the possibility of racial profiling,” and “how to best focus on individuals who pose a true public safety or national security threat.” In addition, the Task Force was specifically charged with making recommendations “on how ICE can adjust the Secure Communities program to mitigate potential impacts on community policing practices, including whether and how to implement policy regarding the removals of individuals charged with, but not convicted of, minor traffic offenses who have no other criminal history. The following people are members on the Task Force on Secure Communities.

Chuck Wexler
Executive Director, Police Executive Research Forum (Chair, Homeland Security Advisory Council (HSAC) member)

Monica Beamer 
Representative, American Federation of Government Employees Local 511

Bo Cooper
Partner, Berry Appleman & Leiden L.L.P.

Christopher Crane
President of National Council 118, American Federation of Government Employees

Andrea Zuniga DiBitetto 
Legislative Representative, AFL-CIO

Jeffrey Fagan
Professor of Law and Public Health, Columbia Law School

Adrian Garcia 
Sheriff, Harris County Sheriff’s Office, Texas

Douglas Gillespie
Sheriff, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department

Robert Glaves
Executive Director, The Chicago Bar Foundation

Benjamin Johnson
Executive Director, American Immigration Council

Andrew Lauland
Homeland Security Advisory, Maryland

Laura Lichter 
Partner, Lichter & Associates, P.C.

David Martin
Distinguished Professor of International Law, University of Virginia School of Law

Brittney Nystrom
Director of Policy and Legal Affairs, National Immigration Forum 

Charles Ramsey 
Police Commissioner, Philadelphia Police Department

Lupe Valdez
Sheriff, Dallas County Sheriff’s Department, Texas

Arturo Venegas, Jr.
Founder, Law Enforcement Engagement Initiative 

Roberto Villaseñor
Chief of Police, Tucson Police Department, Arizona

Wendy Wayne
Director of the Immigration Impact Unit, Committee for Public Counsel Services

Sister Rosemary Welsh
Executive Director, Casa de Misericordia and Director, Mercy Ministries Outreach

Learn More

Visit the Secure Communities "What's New" Area

The Task Force is receiving public comment at TFSC@dhs.gov.

Last Updated: 08/22/2022
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content