You are here

What DHS Does

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security is large and decentralized. Made of up seven operational component agencies as well as numerous directorates and support components, each has its own unique areas of responsibility for keeping the Homeland and its inhabitants safe. From protecting the President and stemming the flow of drugs into the country to preventing acts of terrorism and helping communities recover from natural disasters, all parts of DHS are unified in their effort to advance the Homeland Security mission, working daily to prepare against and respond to any manner of crisis that may hit the United States.

To understand how Department's different parts work together to protect the Homeland, click through the scenarios listed here.

Last Published Date: August 22, 2016

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top