U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. In Focus
  3. Recognizing DHS Excellence
  4. Presidential Rank Award Recipients

Presidential Rank Awards

Each year, the President recognizes a select group of Senior Executive Service (SES), Senior Level (SL), and Scientific and Professional (ST) employees for exceptional performance over an extended period with the Presidential Rank Awards. Two categories of rank awards are available.

Federal agencies nominate hundreds of career SES members and SL/ST employees for these prestigious awards. The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is honored to recognize DHS recipients who distinguished themselves among career federal leaders and made significant achievements in their agencies.

Last Updated: 11/14/2023
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content