You are here

Advocates for Competition and Task-Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman

There are two senior agency positions dedicated to ensuring full and open competition as a part of the federal contracting process: Advocates for Competition and Task-Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman.

Advocates for Competition are responsible for:

  • Promoting full and open competition;
  • Promoting the acquisition of commercial items;
  • Removing barriers to full and open competition such as unnecessarily restrictive statements of work, overly detailed specification and burdensome contract clauses.

Each federal agency and procuring activity will have a Advocate for Competition.

Task Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman are responsible for:

  • Addressing contractor concerns regarding compliance with task/delivery order award procedures;
  • Reviewing contractor complaints on task/delivery order contracts;
  • Ensuring all contractors are afforded a fair opportunity to be considered for each task/delivery order, consistent with FAR 16.505(b); and
  • When requested, maintaining strict confidentiality of the contractor requesting assistance.

The Task Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman may also be the agency’s Advocate for Competition.

Agency and Component Advocates for Competition and Task-Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman

Below lists the Advocates for Competition and Task-Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman for the Department of Homeland Security and our component agencies. Please note that both positions may be filled by a single individual.

Department Advocate for Competition

Ann Van Houten, Executive Director, Oversight, Systems and Support Division
Office of the Chief Procurement Officer
Ann.VanHouten@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-5285 (office)

Procuring Activity Advocates for Competition (PAACS)

Component

Advocate for
Competition
Alternate Advocate
for Competition
Task/Delivery
Order Ombudsman
Alternate Task/Delivery
Order Ombudsman
CBPPatricia E. Larsen
Director, Strategic Improvement and
Business Information
Patricia.E.Larsen@cbp.dhs.gov
202-344-1139
David Hansen
Associate Director,
Strategic Improvement
and Business Information
David.J.Hansen@cbp.dhs.gov
317-614-4689

Richard Gunderson
Special Assistant
RICHARD.GUNDERSON@cbp.dhs.gov
202-306-0333

Diane Sahakian
Deputy Executive Director
Diane.V.Sahakian@cbp.dhs.gov
202-344-1123
FEMATyuana Bailey
Acting Director Acquisition Program and Planning
Tyuana.Bailey@fema.dhs.gov
202-212-2642
Tyuana Bailey
Acting Director Acquisition Program and Planning
Tyuana.Bailey@fema.dhs.gov
202-212-2642
Tyuana Bailey
Acting Director Acquisition Program and Planning
Tyuana.Bailey@fema.dhs.gov
202-212-2642
Tyuana Bailey
Acting Director Acquisition Program and Planning
Tyuana.Bailey@fema.dhs.gov
202-212-2642
FLETCAndrew J. Latta
Deputy Chief, Procurement Division
Andrew.j.latta@fletc.dhs.gov
912-261-3691
Andrew J. Latta
Deputy Chief, Procurement Division
Andrew.j.latta@fletc.dhs.gov
912-261-3691
Andrew J. Latta
Deputy Chief, Procurement Division
Andrew.j.latta@fletc.dhs.gov
912-261-3691
Andrew J. Latta
Deputy Chief, Procurement Division
Andrew.j.latta@fletc.dhs.gov
912-261-3691
ICEAlbert Dainton
Deputy Director, Office of Acquisition Management
Albert.Dainton@ice.dhs.gov
202-732-2641
Albert Dainton
Deputy Director, Office of Acquisition Management
Albert.Dainton@ice.dhs.gov
202-732-2641
Albert Dainton
Deputy Director, Office of Acquisition Management
Albert.Dainton@ice.dhs.gov
202-732-2641
Albert Dainton
Deputy Director, Office of Acquisition Management
Albert.Dainton@ice.dhs.gov
202-732-2641
OPOCarolyn A. Smith
Director, Acquisition Management & Support Division
Carolyn.A.Smith@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-5306
Gary Hickey
Deputy Executive Director
Gary.Hickey1@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-5547
Carolyn A. Smith
Director, Acquisition Management & Support
Division
Carolyn.A.Smith@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-5306
Carolyn A. Smith
Director, Acquisition Management & Support
Division
Carolyn.A.Smith@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-5306
TSAMarvin C. Grubbs
Director, Policy and Oversight Division
Marvin.Grubbs@tsa.dhs.gov
571-227-4978
Marvin C. Grubbs
Director, Policy and Oversight Division
Marvin.Grubbs@tsa.dhs.gov
571-227-4978
Marvin C. Grubbs
Director, Policy and Oversight Division
Marvin.Grubbs@tsa.dhs.gov
571-227-4978
Marvin C. Grubbs
Director, Policy and Oversight Division
Marvin.Grubbs@tsa.dhs.gov
571-227-4978
USCGJames L. Knight
Deputy Chief Acquisition Officer and Director of Acquisition Services
James.L.Knight@uscg.mil
202-475-3134
James L. Knight
Deputy Chief Acquisition Officer and Director of Acquisition Services
James.L.Knight@uscg.mil
202-475-3134

Michael Derrios
Head of Contracting Activity
Michael.Derrios@uscg.mil
202-475-3751

James L. Knight
Deputy Chief Acquisition
Officer and Director of Acquisition Services
James.L.Knight@uscg.mil
202-475-3134
USSSPamela Corry
Component Acquisition Executive
Pamela.Corry@usss.dhs.gov
202-406-6955
Pamela Corry
Component Acquisition Executive
Pamela.Corry@usss.dhs.gov
202-406-6955
Pamela Corry
Component Acquisition Executive
Pamela.Corry@usss.dhs.gov
202-406-6955
Pamela Corry
Component Acquisition Executive
Pamela.Corry@usss.dhs.gov
202-406-6955
OSAJanet D’Angelo
Acting Policy Director
Janet.Dangelo@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-0728
Janet D’Angelo
Acting Policy Director
Janet.Dangelo@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-0728
Janet D’Angelo
Acting Policy Director
Janet.Dangelo@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-0728
Janet D’Angelo
Acting Policy Director
Janet.Dangelo@hq.dhs.gov
202-447-0728
Last Published Date: April 12, 2017

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top