You are here

Advocates for Competition and Task-Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman

There are two senior agency positions dedicated to ensuring full and open competition as a part of the federal contracting process: Advocates for Competition and Task-Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman.

Each federal agency and contracting activity must have an Advocate for Competition as described in Federal Acquisition Regulation Subpart 6.5. They are responsible for:

  • Promoting full and open competition.
  • Promoting the acquisition of commercial items.
  • Removing barriers to full and open competition, such as unnecessarily restrictive statements of work, overly detailed specifications, and burdensome contract clauses.

The Task Order and Delivery Order Ombudsman may also be the agency’s Advocate for Competition as described in Federal Acquisition Regulation Subpart 16.505. They are responsible for:

  • Addressing contractor concerns regarding compliance with task/delivery order award procedures.
  • Reviewing contractor complaints regarding task/delivery order contracts.
  • Ensuring all contractors are afforded a fair opportunity to be considered for each task/delivery order.
  • When requested, maintaining strict confidentiality of the contractor requesting assistance.

Contacts

Anyone who has a question or concern regarding the fairness or transparency of a DHS procurement may contact any of the individuals below to receive assistance.

Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Competition Advocate

Ann Van Houten, Ann.VanHouten@hq.dhs.gov, 202-447-5285

Customs and Border Protection (CBP) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

Richard Gunderson, richard.gunderson@cbp.dhs.gov, 202-306-0333

U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

James L. Knight, james.l.knight@uscg.mil, 202-475-3134

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman  

Tyuana Bailey, tyuana.bailey@fema.dhs.gov, 202-212-2642

Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers (FLETC) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

Andrew J. Latta, andrew.j.latta@fletc.dhs.gov , 912-261-3691

Immigrations and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

Sarah J. Todd, sarah.j.todd@ice.dhs.gov, 202-732-2519

Transportation Security Administration (TSA) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman\

Marvin C. Grubbs, marvin.grubbs@tsa.dhs.gov, 571-227-4978

U.S. Secret Service (USSS) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

Miriam Harris, miriam.harris@usss.dhs.gov, 202-406-6809

Office of Procurement Operations Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

Catherine Baskin, catherine.baskin@hq.dhs.gov, 202-650-7792

Office of Selective Acquisitions (OSA) Advocate for Competition and Ombudsman

Janet D’Angelo, janet.dangelo@hq.dhs.gov, 202-447-0728

Last Published Date: July 17, 2018

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top