You are here

2014 Secretary's Award for Valor

On May 14, 2014, Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson presented the new Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary’s Award for Valor to ten employees who have displayed exceptional courage and valor either while serving the Department, or while off-duty acting only as a concerned citizen willing to help a fellow American in need.
Secretary Johnson, along with Deputy Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas and DHS senior leadership, recognized ten individuals for their actions of bravery and courage during 2013 and 2014. Their selfless actions saved individuals from harm, rescued another’s life, and protected infrastructure in support of the nation’s security. Nominations for the award came from peers and leadership throughout the Department, including both civilian and military personnel.

The following individuals, listed by component order, received the Secretary’s Award for Valor, the highest recognition from the Department for extraordinary acts of valor:

Last Published Date: August 6, 2018

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top