U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2016 Secretary's Award for Valor

Secretary's Award for Valor On May 13, 2016, Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson, joined by Deputy Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas and DHS senior leadership, presented the 2016 Department of Homeland Security Secretary’s Award for Valor to 13 outstanding individuals who have displayed exceptional valor while serving the Department, or while off-duty acting only as a concerned citizen willing to help those in need.

Secretary Johnson began the Secretary’s Award for Valor in 2014 to recognize the extraordinary service and outstanding contributions of employees from across the country to the Department and the Nation.

This year’s award recipients included thirteen DHS employees:

Last Updated: 01/13/2022
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content