U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2015 Secretary's Award for Valor

On May 14, 2015, Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson presented the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary’s Award for Valor to 12 individuals who have displayed exceptional courage and valor either while serving the Department, or while off-duty acting only as a concerned citizen willing to help a fellow American in need.

Joined by Deputy Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas and DHS senior leadership, Secretary Johnson recognized 12 individuals, ten DHS employees, and two law enforcement officers, for their actions of bravery and courage during 2014 and 2015. Their selfless actions saved individuals from harm, rescued another’s life, and protected infrastructure in support of the nation’s security. Nominations for the award came from peers and leadership throughout the Department, including both civilian and military personnel.

The 2015 award recipients included ten DHS employees and two local law enforcement officials:

Last Updated: 01/13/2022
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content