US flag signifying that this is a United States Federal Government website   Official website of the Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security

About the Office of Legislative Affairs

The Office of Legislative Affairs serves as primary liaison to members of Congress and their staffs. The office responds to inquiries from Congress; notifies Congress about Department initiatives, policies, and programs; and keeps other governmental bodies informed concerning Homeland Security measures that affect their operations and Department actions in jointly undertaken security endeavors.


The Office of Legislative Affairs enhances the ability of the Department to prevent, protect against and respond to threats and hazards to the nation, as well as to ensure safe and secure borders, by providing timely information about Homeland Security and national security issues to members of Congress, the White House and Executive Branch, and to other federal agencies and governmental entities.

Leadership and Organization

The Office of Legislative Affairs is headed by Assistant Secretary Brian de Vallance.

Additional Leadership:

  • Alexandra Veitch, Deputy Assistant Secretary - U.S. House of Representatives
  • Sue Ramanathan, Deputy Assistant Secretary - U.S. Senate
  • Ryan Ramsey, Chief of Staff
  • Director Edward 'Ted' Lovett
    Area of Responsibility: Border Security, Immigration
  • Director Jerald 'Jay' Harper
    Area of Responsibility: Federal Emergency Management Agency, Transportation Security Administration
  • Acting Director Coleman Mehta
    Area of Responsibility: National Protection and Programs Directorate, National Cybersecurity Center
  • Director Eddie Gleason
    Area of Responsibility: U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Secret Service, Federal Law Enforcement Training Center
  • Director Connie LaRossa
    Area of Responsibility: Office of Intelligence and Analysis, Domestic Nuclear Detection Office
  • Acting Director Karen Leydet
    Area of Responsibility: Science and Technology Directorate, Office of Health Affairs
  • Director Jeffrey T. Readinger
    Area of Responsibility: Management Directorate, Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business, Privacy Office, Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Office, Military Advisor to the Secretary
  • Director for Support Operations Therese Boyd
    Area of Responsibility: Non-Legislative Administration

By mail or phone:
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Office of Legislative Affairs
Mail Stop 0020
Washington, D.C. 20528

Phone: 202-447-5890
Fax: 202-447-5437

By e-mail: - If you are a member of Congress or with a Congressional Office and wish to only get a letter to the Secretary’s Office please e-mail this address.

Last Published Date: October 23, 2014
Back to Top