You are here

Committee Management Office

The Committee Management Office (CMO) exercises control and lends oversight to all DHS Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) related committees; equips the Designated Federal Officials (DFO) and Alternate Designated Official (DFO) of each committee with the tools necessary to carry out their committee duties, facilitates stakeholder discussions; offers innovative solutions to FACA issues; and routinely provides the Department’s senior leaders with a snapshot of the FACA program.

CMO Staff

Traci Silas - CMO Director

Dwayne Baker - Lead Analyst

Julia Hanson-Takyi - Analyst



Board of Visitor for the National Fire Academy (FEMA)

  • Superintendent Tonya Hoover, DFO Designation Date: September 22, 2017

Commercial Customs Operations Advisory Committee (CBP)

  • Ms. Valarie Neuhart, DFO Designation Date: February 28, 2017

Data Privacy and Integrity Advisory Committee (HQ)

  • Ms. Sandra Taylor, DFO Designation Date: October 1, 2014

Faith-Based Security Advisory Council (HQ)

  • Ms. Traci Silas, DFO Designation Date: June 15, 2020

Great Lakes Pilotage Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Rajiv Khandpur, DFO Designation Date: January 4, 2011

Homeland Security Advisory Council (HQ)

  • Mr. Mike Miron, DFO Designation Date: May 2003

Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee (S&T)

  • Ms. Gretchen Cullenberg, ADFO Designation Date:

Merchant Marine Personnel Advisory Committee ( Coast Guard)

  • Ms. Mayte Medina, DFO Designation Date: May 21, 2009

Merchant Mariner Medical Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Ms. Mayte Medina, DFO Designation Date: August 11, 2016

National Advisory Council (FEMA)

  • Mr. Jasper Cooke, DFO Designation Date: March 4, 2019

National Boating and Safety Advisory Council (Coast Guard)

  • Ms. Verne Gifford, DFO Designation Date: September 21, 2017

National Chemical Transportation Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Marc Montemerlo, DFO Designation Date: June 29, 2017

National Commercial Fishing Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Matt Edwards, DFO Designation Date: May 1, 2017

National Maritime Security Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Bradley Clare, DFO Designation Date: August 30, 2019

National Navigation Safety Advisory Council (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Keith Ropella, DFO Designation Date: September 30, 2019

National Offshore Safety Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Myles Greenway, DFO Designation Date: June 10, 2019

National Towing Safety Advisory Committee (Coast Guard)

  • Mr. Myles Greenway, DFO Designation Date: June 10, 2019

President's National Infrastructure Advisory Council (CISA)

  • Ms. Ginger Norris, DFO Designation Date: November 25, 2019

President's National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee (CISA)

  • Ms. Helen Jackson, DFO Designation Date: November 25, 2019

Technical Mapping Advisory Council (FEMA)

  • Mr. Michael Nakagaki, DFO Designation Date: March 8, 2018

User Fee Advisory Committee (CBP)

  • Ms. Valarie Neuhart, DFO Designation Date: February 28, 2017

Exempt Committees

Aviation Security Advisory Committee (TSA)

Public-Private Analytic Exchange Program (Intel)

Transatlantic Aviation Industry Roundtable Committee (HQ)

Frequently Asked Questions

Below are frequently asked questions related to the Committee Management Office.

Q: Who is my main point of contact for questions?

A: Your Designated Federal Officer/Official (DFO). The DFO is responsible for approving or calling the meeting of the advisory committee, approving the agenda, attending meetings and all other aspects involving conduct of an advisory committee meeting.

Q: How is a member appointed?

A: Apply via notice in the Federal Register, preliminary list is sent to the FACA Director for background check/vetting through the White House Liaison’s Office, and appointment letter is sent to the candidate.

Q: What is the resignation process?

A: Member must send the DFO written documentation of the need to resign and include an effective date for the resignation.

Q: What is the reappointment process?

A: Member must submit written documentation to the DFO requesting an extended term, member’s name is submitted along with all other preliminary list names to the FACA Director for background check/vetting through the White House Liaison’s Office, and appointment letter is sent to the candidate.

Q: Is there a time limit on the number of years I can serve?

A: Members may serve up to 6 consecutive years before rolling off for at least one term. “Term” is defined in each committee’s bylaws.

Q: Can I serve on more than one DHS Federal Advisory Committee?

A: If necessary, yes. However, it is discouraged because members must aggregate their hours of service for all Agency involvement.

Q: What is the expected time commitment for my role?

A: No more than 130 days during any 365-day period. You may also refer to Ethics guidance.

Q: Can I serve on more than one subcommittee?

A: Yes, but the DFO must assign member participation.

Q: Do I need to submit a financial disclosure form? If so, why?

A: All Special Government Employees (SGEs) must submit Office of Government Ethics (OGE) Form 450s annually. Once annual submission applies Federal government-wide. Since SGEs represent themselves on advisory committees (instead of representatives who speak for a group or organization), financial disclosure forms are necessary to address/resolve conflicts of interest.

Q: Do administrative sessions need to be recorded?

A: No, but you need to capture that it occurred. Additionally, for your recordkeeping you need to capture that you had an admin session.

Q: What is the difference between a meeting and a session?

A: Committee meeting - Any gathering of advisory committee members (whether in person or through electronic means) held with the approval of an agency for the purpose of deliberating on the substantive matters upon which the advisory committee provides advice or recommendations.

Session/Preparatory work - Meetings of two or more advisory committee or subcommittee members convened solely to gather information, conduct research, or analyze relevant issues and facts in preparation for a meeting of the advisory committee, or to draft position papers for deliberation by the advisory committee.

Q: Can we submit our own vetting to speed the process up?

A: No, the vetting process requires the CMO to submit the candidates received to the White House Liaison. Once this has been submitted the White House reviews based on the order of priority.

Q: What is an ACR?

A: ACR refers to the Annual Comprehensive Review. This is a review of advisory committees’ activities and costs. The review is conducted annually by the Secretariat.

Last Published Date: January 7, 2021

Was this page helpful?

This page was not helpful because the content:
Back to Top