U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

The Secretary’s Award for Valor 2023

The Secretary’s Award for Valor is the highest recognition for extraordinary acts of valor occurring either on or off duty. The employee will have demonstrated selfless response by performing courageously in a highly dangerous or life-threatening situation to protect another’s life or to save significant assets or infrastructure from harm. Both civilian and military employees of the Department are eligible for this award.

Gavin Gard

Transportation Security Administration

Ezra Gonzalez

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Tim Knox

Transportation Security Administration

John Rackley

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Agents Responding to Robb Elementary

U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Warren Becker III
Paul Guerrero
Christopher Merrell

U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement

Matthew McCormick

Fishing Vessel GLORY Rescue Crew CG-6036

U.S. Coast Guard

Michael Haas
Shane Moore
Andrew Thomas
Scott Woodcock

Lightning Strike Team

U.S. Secret Service

Carlie Allen
Jean Araujo
Jordan Blankenship
Jacob Bresette
Cameron Bunker
Antonio Capasso
Jean-Philippe Charles
Ryan Chase
Adante Davis
Pasquale Defelice
Kevin Drost
Matthew Earwood
Rodney Ellington
Nicole Gonzalez
Luke Hraba
Alexander Langel
Stephen Lillis
Sarah Manucy
Kory McCormick
Justin O'Brien
Luke Reynolds
Michael Rice, Jr.
Matthew Rosales
Christopher Schesser

Last Updated: 04/14/2023
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content