U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience

-Posted by Secretary Napolitano

Today, I am proud to announce the creation of the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience at the Department of Homeland Security. This award is inspired by the heroic efforts of Rick Rescorla, who gave his life helping his colleagues at Morgan Stanley safely evacuate the World Trade Center on 9/11.

Last year, I had the honor of presenting the DHS Distinguished Public Service Medal to Rick’s wife Susan and his son Trevor, in recognition of his efforts that resulted in the evacuation of nearly every Morgan Stanley employee from the South Tower on 9/11. 

Following the 1993 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center, Rick regularly drilled his Morgan Stanley coworkers in disaster preparedness and response. Rick’s actions and his commitment to preparedness ensured that the 2,700 Morgan Stanley employees who worked in the South Tower knew how to evacuate and where to go on 9/11.

The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience recognizes outstanding response to a catastrophic incident and leadership in fostering resilient and prepared communities. If you know of any organization or individual like Rick that has demonstrated superior leadership and a focus on effective preparation, response, and recovery in the face of disasters, you can nominate them here.

For more information on eligibility and criteria for the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience and how to nominate an individual or organization, visit www.dhs.gov/rrraward. An individual or organization may be nominated for the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience beginning April 1, 2012 through May 15, 2012. The award will be presented annually, starting September 2012.
Last Updated: 09/28/2018
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content