U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. DHS Issues First-Ever Resilience STAR(TM) Designations to Homeowners

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

DHS Issues First-Ever Resilience STAR(TM) Designations to Homeowners

Posted by: Mike Kangior, Senior Director of Resilience Policy & Matt Fuchs, Deputy Director of Resilience Policy

Yesterday, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) recognized the nation’s first recipients of Resilience STARTM designations during a ceremony hosted by the Insurance Institute for Business & Home Safety (IBHS). The Resilience STARTM Home Pilot Project is part of the Department’s continuing effort to work with our state, local, and private sector partners to ensure our local communities are resilient in the face of all disasters.  
Yesterday’s ceremony recognized homeowners who have met the goals of the DHS Resilience STARTM Pilot Project, which promotes home design features that are both affordable and proven to enhance resilience to disasters such as hurricanes. Earlier this year, DHS began soliciting applications from builders, homeowners, and third-party evaluators to participate in the Pilot Project. Several hurricane-prone coastal communities in Alabama and Mississippi were chosen for the projects, and the pilot homes were built or retrofitted, and evaluated by independent third parties to ensure that homes meet IBHS standards for structural resilience. 

The Resilience STARTM designation is given to homes that are built or retrofitted to withstand damage from specific natural disasters, utilizing the standards and third-party verification process in the IBHS FORTIFIED HomeTM program. The FORTIFIED standards are designed to improve the quality of residential construction and feature practical, meaningful solutions for new and existing homes throughout the United States. 

Through initiatives like the Resilience STARTM Home Pilot Project, we can continue to increase the readiness and resilience of our communities. In the coming months, it is anticipated that DHS will launch additional pilot projects.

For more information on the Resilience STAR™ Home Pilot Project, visit https://disastersafety.org/ibhs-news-releases/first-ever-resilience-star-homes-designated-national-preparedness-month-height-hurricane-season/.

Last Updated: 09/20/2018
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content