U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. $5.8 Million in Disaster Loans Approved For Iowa

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

$5.8 Million in Community Disaster Loans Approved For Iowa

Release Date: February 11, 2009

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
Contact: 202-282-8010

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security announced today that it has approved approximately $5.8 million in Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Community Disaster Loans (CDL) for Iowa, including the maximum $5 million loan amount for Cedar Rapids. These funds will be used to assist five Iowa communities as they continue to recover from 2008 flooding.

"Community Disaster Loans provide much-needed funding to communities to help maintain essential services – like fire and police departments, school boards and district court offices – in the aftermath of a disaster," said Department of Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano. "With these disbursements, we are helping ensure the recovery process continues in these Iowa communities. FEMA will continue to collaborate with our state and local partners throughout the area to speed the loan application process and get money into the hands of those that need it."

FEMA has approved five loans for Iowa:

  • Cedar Rapids ($5 million)
  • New Hartford ($118,811)
  • Oakville ($51,588)
  • Palo ($304,722)
  • Parkersburg ($385,295)

Loans can be made to any local government in need of financial assistance to perform essential services. CDL applicants may include fire and police departments that provide critical community services during and in the immediate aftermath of disasters, as well as school boards, district court offices, and local governments.

Potential applicants for CDLs should consult their state office or official designated as the single point of contact for more information on the process the state requires to be followed in applying for assistance. Following the declaration of a major disaster, interested applicants may request assistance through the Governor’s authorized representative. For more information about Community Disaster Loans, visit www.fema.gov/community-disaster-loan-program.


Last Updated: 09/21/2018
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content