U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. Secretary Johnson Appoints New Members to Academic Advisory Council, Commits to New Initiative

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Secretary Johnson Appoints New Members to Academic Advisory Council, Commits to New Initiative

Release Date: October 19, 2016

For Immediate Release
Office of the Press Secretary
Contact: 202-282-8010

WASHINGTON - The Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC) today held its eleventh meeting, convening college and university presidents, academic leaders and interagency partners to provide the Secretary of Homeland Security and Department of Homeland Security (DHS) senior leadership with recommendations on homeland security matters. DHS maintains numerous relationships with the academic community and engages directly with college and university leadership, faculty, and students on a range of issues.

The HSAAC is an important mechanism for strengthening the connections between academia and DHS. In support of the mission and purpose of the HSAAC, DHS and Secretary Jeh C. Johnson appointed eight new members during the recent meeting. These eight college and university system presidents represent a diverse range of campuses and student populations. Each brings to the Council a uniquely qualified expertise on the challenges facing our campuses and the intersections between academia and the mission of DHS. New members include:

  • Dr. Eric Barron, President, Pennsylvania State University
  • Mr. Bruce Benson, President, University of Colorado
  • Dr. Renu Khator, Chancellor and President, University of Houston
  • Dr. Carol Leary, President, Bay Path University
  • Dr. David Pershing, President, University of Utah
  • Dr. Robert Scott, President Emeritus, Adelphi University
  • Mr. Kent Syverud, Chancellor and President, Syracuse University
  • Mr. Michael Young, President, Texas A&M University 

“Today, I welcomed eight new members to serve on the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council,” said Secretary Johnson. “The HSAAC has been an invaluable asset to the Department and our efforts to partner with the academic community, and DHS remains committed to engaging leaders at colleges and universities across the nation.”

In addition, DHS announced the formation of a new Academic Subcommittee on Countering Violent Extremism (CVE). The subcommittee will provide advice and recommendations aimed at enhancing DHS’s CVE-related programs, policies and initiatives. Members also discussed the November 2016 National Seminar and Tabletop Exercise for Institutions of Higher Education, DHS’s Blue Campaign and received an update on the Quadrennial Homeland Security Review.
Since its formation, the HSAAC has delivered more than 120 recommendations resulting in new and expanded programs, resources and initiatives to support the academic community, highlighting the value of the HSAAC and its alignment with DHS objectives.
The next full meeting of the HSAAC is scheduled to take place in April, 2017.



Last Updated: 09/20/2019
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content