U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Press Releases
  4. Secretary Mayorkas Congratulates Department Recipients of 2021 Presidential Rank Award

Secretary Mayorkas Congratulates Department Recipients of 2021 Presidential Rank Award

Release Date: December 10, 2021

WASHINGTON – Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro N. Mayorkas today congratulated the 27 members of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) workforce who received the 2021 Presidential Rank Award (PRA).

“Congratulations to the DHS recipients of the prestigious 2021 Presidential Rank Award, the Nation’s highest civil service recognition, for their exceptional displays of leadership and service,” said Secretary Mayorkas. “Every single recipient of this award has made a lasting impact on our Department and the Federal government through their talent, integrity, and dedication to our critical mission. In recognizing these incredible public servants for their transformative work, we also celebrate the colleagues who support them. The accomplishments of one are made possible by the contributions of all.”

DHS employees selected by President Biden to receive the prestigious awards include:

Distinguished Senior Executive Service (SES) Rank Awards

The Distinguished Rank Award is presented to leaders who achieve sustained extraordinary accomplishments and is given to only one percent of career SES members.

  • Angela S. Bailey, Management Directorate
  • Stacey Fitzmaurice, Transportation Security Administration
  • David M. Kohl, Transportation Security Administration
  • Joseph Maher, Office of the General Counsel
  • Gary C. Rasicot, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Keith Turi, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Meritorious Senior Executive Service (SES) Rank Awards
The Meritorious Rank Award is presented to leaders for sustained accomplishments and is awarded to only 5 percent of career SES members and SL/ST employees.

  • Jerry W. Agnew, Transportation Security Administration
  • Alexis Amparo, Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • David F. Bassett, Transportation Security Administration
  • Robert P. Burns, Science and Technology Directorate
  • Kelli Ann Burriesci, Transportation Security Administration (Now at Office of Strategy, Policy, and Plans)
  • Donna P. Campagnolo, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
  • Kimberly Cheatle, U.S. Secret Service
  • Susan C. Dunbar, Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Paul Fujimura, Transportation Security Administration
  • Karen E. Hanlon, Transportation Security Administration
  • Melanie Harvey, Transportation Security Administration
  • Jennifer B. Higgins, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
  • James V. Johnson, Science and Technology Directorate
  • Francine J. Kerner, Transportation Security Administration
  • Calvin M. Lederer, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Troy A. Miller, Customs and Border Protection
  • Corey Price, Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Timothy Robbins, Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Gregory L. Teets, Federal Emergency Management Agency
  • Kimberly Walton, Transportation Security Administration
  • Kelly Wheaton, Transportation Security Administration

A Presidential Rank Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the federal career civil service, and these awards are critical to recognizing the hard work and important contributions of dedicated civil servants in the American federal workforce. This year, 230 winners from 37 federal agencies were selected by the President for their exceptional leadership, accomplishments, and service over an extended period of time. These individuals are all members of the Senior Executive Service (SES), Senior-Level (SL) and Scientific and Professional (ST) corps.

Read the full announcement from the Office of Personnel Management (OPM) here. The complete list of the Presidential Rank Awards may be found on OPM’s website. More information on the program and winners can be found on the OPM blog.

Last Updated: 12/01/2023
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content