You are here

September 2017 Jones Act Waivers

On September 8, 2017 and in recognition of the severity of Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, Department of Homeland Security Acting Secretary Elaine Duke approved a waiver of the federal Jones Act.  This waiver will ensure that over the next week, all options are available to distribute fuel to states and territories impacted by Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, both historic storms. The waiver will be in effect for seven days after signature and is specifically tailored to transportation of refined products in hurricane-affected areas.

On September 11, 2017, Acting Secretary Duke signed a second Jones Act waiver, valid through September 22, 2017.

On September 28, 2017, Acting Secretary Duke signed a third Jones Act waiver for Puerto Rico.

Created Date: September 8, 2017
Last Published Date: November 12, 2021
Back to Top