U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. DHS Selects Winners of a New Nuclear Forensics Research Award

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

DHS Selects Winners of a New Nuclear Forensics Research Award

Release Date: September 11, 2017

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) selected Colorado State University (CSU), in collaboration with Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, and the University of Texas at Austin (UTA), partnering with the Air Force Technical Applications Center as the first DHS Domestic Nuclear Detection Office (DNDO) Nuclear Forensics Research Award (NFRA) recipients. The Nuclear Forensics Research Awards support cutting edge research in nuclear forensics. Nuclear forensics allows the United States Government to identify those responsible for a terrorist nuclear attack.

Last month, DNDO visited faculty and students at both CSU and UTA to launch their research projects. In addition to supporting critical research, the NFRA will provide technical education and mentorship to students. This is part of DHS’ efforts to fill a critical gap in the Nation’s nuclear forensics workforce. Programs like this one ensure that our Nation will have exceptionally skilled scientists equipped to execute this mission well into the future.

The NFRA is an excellent opportunity for students, faculty, and laboratory staff to conduct research and build relationships in order to facilitate future collaboration. To learn more about how to apply for the Nuclear Forensics Research Award please visit our webpage. The next award cycle will begin in the fall of 2017 and can be found on www.grants.gov.

Last Updated: 02/05/2021
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content