U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. DHS Announces Appointment of New Members of the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

DHS Announces Appointment of New Members of the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council

Release Date: October 16, 2015

For Immediate Release
DHS Press Office
Contact: 202-282-8010

WASHINGTON— Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson today announced the appointment of six new members to the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council (HSAAC). The Council consists of university presidents and academic leaders who provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary on matters related to homeland security and the academic community.

The new members announced today are: Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis, Florida Memorial University President; Dr. Michael M. Crow, Arizona State University President; Dr. Beverly Wade Hogan, Tougaloo College President; Dr. Jim Johnsen, University of Alaska System President; Dr. Dawn Lindsay, Anne Arundel Community College President; and Rear Admiral James Rendon, U.S. Coast Guard Academy Superintendent.

HSAAC members serve two, three, or four-year terms of office, with approximately one-third of members’ terms of office expiring each year.

For more information about HSAAC, visit this webpage.

Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis

Florida Memorial University

Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis was appointed as the 13th President of Florida Memorial University in February 2014 and is the first woman president in the university’s history. Prior to joining Florida Memorial University, she served in numerous roles at Mountain State University, including Director of Legal Studies, Senior Academic Officer for Distance Education, Vice President of University Advancement, Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer and the university’s Provost. Before embarking on a career in academia, Artis enjoyed an active general litigation practice for eight years. She served as a partner in Assessment by Design, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in the development and implementation of comprehensive assessment strategies for higher education institutions.

Dr. Michael M. Crow

Arizona State University

Dr. Michael M. Crow became the 16th President of Arizona State University in 2002. Crow was previously Executive Vice Provost of Columbia University, where he also was Professor of Science and Technology Policy. As chief strategist of Columbia’s research enterprise, he led technology and innovation transfer operations, establishing Columbia Innovation Enterprises (renamed Science and Technology Ventures), as well as advancing interdisciplinary program development. Crow is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the National Academy of Public Administration and member of the Council on Foreign Relations and U.S. Department of Commerce National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship. 

Dr. Beverly Wade Hogan

Tougaloo College

Dr. Beverly Wade Hogan has served as President of Tougaloo College since May 2002, and is the first woman president in the university’s history. Prior to becoming president, Hogan served in various capacities at the university. She also served as the Commissioner for the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission, the Executive Director of the Governor’s Office of Federal State Programs and the Executive Director of the Mental Health Association in Hinds County and the state of Mississippi. She has been a scholar with the Kettering Foundation where her research focus was higher education and civic responsibility. Hogan was appointed by President Obama to serve on the President’s Board of Advisors on Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Tougaloo College was designated as a Center of Excellence in Transportation Security by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

Dr. Jim Johnsen

University of Alaska System

Dr. Jim Johnsen was appointed President of the University of Alaska System on July 28, 2015. Prior to this role, Johnsen served as the Senior Vice President of Human Resources and Process Transformation for Alaska Communications. He previously worked for Doyon, Limited as Senior Vice President of Administration, with responsibility for shareholder relations, human resources, information technology, government relations and marketing and communications. Johnsen also spent 12 years at the University of Alaska, where he served in several executive roles including Vice President of Administration and Chief of Staff. He is active in the community as Chair of the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education, Vice Chair of the Alaska Student Loan Corporation, Commissioner on the Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education and member of the Alaska State Committee on Research.

Dr. Dawn Lindsay

Anne Arundel Community College

Dr. Dawn Lindsay is the sixth President of Anne Arundel Community College. Lindsay comes to Anne Arundel Community College after serving as President of Glendale Community College in California. While at Glendale, she was the regional CEO representative and served as a board member for the Glendale Chamber of Commerce, the Alex Theater and the California Community College Athletic Association. She remains a commissioner for the American Association of Community Colleges. Lindsay is known for her ability to develop mutually beneficial community partnerships. Some examples of these partnerships include the Verdugo Power Academy, the Tri-City Fire Academy and the largest Middle College in the United States.

Rear Admiral James Rendon

U.S. Coast Guard Academy

Rear Admiral James Rendon assumed the duties of the 41st Superintendent of the U.S. Coast Guard Academy in New London, Connecticut on June 1, 2015. Prior to this assignment he served as Assistant Superintendent of the Coast Guard Academy. He reported to the Academy after serving as Director of the Joint Interagency Task Force West. Rendon is a Surface Operations Specialist with a diverse list of assignments over his 28 year Coast Guard officer career. Rendon’s personal awards include a Legion of Merit, Meritorious Service Medal (6), Coast Guard Commendation Medal (3), Coast Guard Achievement Medal and a variety of other unit awards and service ribbons.

The full list of the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council members can be found here.


Last Updated: 09/21/2018
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content