U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. Nine DHS Employees Receive the 2015 Presidential Rank Award

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Nine DHS Employees Receive the 2015 Presidential Rank Award

Release Date: December 15, 2015

For Immediate Release
DHS Press Office
Contact: 202-282-8010

WASHINGTON – Today, the White House Office of Management and Budget and the U.S. Office of Personnel Management announced the 2015 Presidential Rank Award recipients, recognizing and celebrating some of the federal government’s top career executives and senior professionals for consistently demonstrating strength, integrity, and commitment to public service. The Presidential Rank Award is bestowed each year by the President upon a small group of career employees and is the nation’s highest civil service award.

“I am very proud of these outstanding men and women and am grateful for their dedication to the DHS mission,” said Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh C. Johnson. “These demonstrated leaders inspire their colleagues and bring great passion and innovation to public service in support of homeland security.”

This prestigious honor is divided into two categories: Distinguished rank for leaders who achieve sustained extraordinary results, and Meritorious rank for leaders with sustained accomplishments. Nine outstanding employees from across the Department were among this year’s recipients. They include:

Distinguished Rank Award:

  • Thomas D. Homan, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  • Kevin K. McAleenan, U.S. Customs and Border Protection
  • Connie L. Patrick, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers

Meritorious Rank Award:

  • Vernon T. Foret, U.S. Customs and Border Protection
  • Robert L. Harris, U.S. Customs and Border Protection
  • John C. Havranek, Office of the General Counsel
  • Joseph D. Moore, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
  • Gary C. Rasicot, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Joanna Ruppel, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

Presidential Rank Award winners are chosen through a rigorous selection process and are nominated by their agency head, evaluated by boards comprised of private citizens, and approved by the President.


Last Updated: 09/21/2018
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content