U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. Acting Secretary Chad F. Wolf Approves Appointments to the Faith-Based Security Advisory Council

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Acting Secretary Chad F. Wolf Approves Appointments to the Faith-Based Security Advisory Council

Release Date: December 17, 2020

The Acting Secretary of Homeland Security, Chad F. Wolf, approved the appointment of 17 members to the newly created Faith-Based Security Advisory Council (FBSAC) on Friday, December 11. The 17 individuals were designated as either Special Government Employees or Representatives for their expertise in the following categories: houses of worship and faith-based organization security, faith-based leaders, faith-based organization leaders, and the faith-based news media. The candidates selected for membership and their respective category are listed below.

Experts in Houses of Worship and Faith-Based Organization Security

  • Mr. Chandru Acharya
  • Mr. Todd Richins
  • Ms. Cassandra Bledsoe
  • Mr. Randy Spivey
  • Mr. Kenneth Berkowitz

Faith-Based Leaders

  • Mr. Hugh Daniel Smith
  • Mr. Stavros Zografos
  • Mr. Dino Teppara

Faith-Based Organization Leaders

  • Mr. Abba Cohen
  • Ms. Dana Harris
  • Mr. John Pinna
  • Ms. Kimberly Burgo
  • Mr. Kenneth Hodder
  • Ms. Shannon Fariel-Mureithi

Faith-Based News Media

  • Ms. Jacqueline Isaac
  • Mr. Jack Hibbs
  • Mr. Paul Batura

The FBSAC was established on July 28, 2020 in order to provide the Secretary with timely recommendations for prevention of and response to attacks on houses of worship, as well as ways to increase information-sharing between the Department and the faith community

Last Updated: 02/05/2021
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content