U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. DHS Announces Appointment of New Members of the Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

DHS Announces Appointment of New Members of the Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee

Release Date: October 30, 2015

For Immediate Release
DHS Press Office
Contact: 202-282-8010

WASHINGTON – Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson today announced the appointment of 28 new members to the Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee (HSSTAC). The HSSTAC provides scientific and technical advice to the Secretary and senior department leadership on matters related to the expansion of technological capabilities across the homeland security enterprise.

The HSSTAC members are selected from disciplines within the following fields of expertise: Organizational Strategy and Management; First Responders; Cybersecurity/Risk; Cross-Cutting Technical Expertise; and Chemical and Biological Defense. The 28 new HSSTAC members will join the six current members on the committee. All members serve two-year terms on the committee. 

For more information about HSSTAC, visit this webpage.  The 28 new members are:

Organization Strategy and Management

James R. Brigham, Jr. is a corporate director of simMachines, Inc., a technology company developing and providing an advanced data analytics engine for cybersecurity and corporate intelligence. 

Herbert Lee Buchanan is President/CEO of Arete Associates, a technology company developing and providing remote sensing solutions for national security customers. 

James F. Decker is Principal and Co-Founder of Decker, Garman, Sullivan and Associates, LLC., a federal relations and management consulting firm focusing on research and development management and business development in the federal sector.

Michael J. Goldblatt is CEO of Aixxia, LLC, a research firm that focuses on technology startups. He is a former Director of Defense Sciences at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

Annie McKee founded Teleos Leadership Institute, a consulting firm focused on developing values-based leadership and resonant organizations. 

Brock C. Reeve is Executive Director of the Harvard Stem Cell Institute, a world-leading network of scientists and clinical experts dedicated to understanding and treating the root causes of degenerative diseases.

John A. Sims is Executive Director of External Relations for Academic Affairs at Bentley University.

David A. Whelan is Vice President of Engineering for Boeing Defense, Space and Security, and is a former Director of the Tactical Technology Office at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. 

Roy A. Wiggins is Dean of Business, Professor of Finance, and Director of the Bentley Microfinance Initiative at Bentley University.

Christina C. Williams is Associate Provost for Administration and Finance at Brandeis University.

First Responder

G. Keith Bryant is an emergency medical technician and member of the Oklahoma City Fire Department. He is the current President of the International Association of Fire Chiefs.

Murray “Jay” Farr is the Deputy Chief of Police in the Arlington County, Va. Police Department. 

Gary W. Schenkel is Executive Director of the Chicago Office of Emergency Management and Communications and oversees the Public Safety Consortium, which brings together local, state, and federal partners to plan and coordinate emergency response. 

James Schwartz is the Chief of the Arlington County, Va. Fire Department.


Vinton G. Cerf is Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google. 

Vincent W. S. Chan is Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT. 

James A. Hendler is Director of the Institute for Data Exploration and Applications, and the Tetherless World Professor of Computer, Web, and Cognitive Sciences at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. 

Cross Cutting Technical Expertise

Philip E. Coyle is a Senior Science Fellow at the Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation. 

William P. Crowell is a partner with Alsop Louie Partners, a consulting firm focused on information technology, security and intelligence systems, and a former Deputy Director of the National Security Agency.

Daniel Dubno developed Keyhole, a software imagery program later acquired by Google.

Yacov Y. Haimes is the Lawrence R. Quarles Professor of Systems and Information Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Founding Director of the Center for Risk Management of Engineering Systems at the University of Virginia. 

Eric Haseltine is President of Haseltine Partners LLC. He previously served Associate Director of National Intelligence. 

Karim R. Lakhani is an Associate Professor of Business Administration at the Harvard Business School and Principal Investigator of the Crowd Innovation Lab and NASA Tournament Lab at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science. 

Mark T. Maybury is the Chief Technology Officer of the MITRE Corp. He is a member of the Defense Science Board, and the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board.

Brian C. Toohey is Executive Vice President of DEKA Research and Development Corp and the former President and CEO of the Semiconductor Industry Association. 

Theodore Lawrence Willke II is Senior Principal Engineer for Intel Labs. 

Chemical and Biological Defense

Kathie L. Olsen is Founder and Managing Director of ScienceWorks, a consulting firm that focuses on science and engineering research pursuits. 

Gerald W. Parker is Vice President for Public Health Preparedness and Response, and principal investigator for the Texas A&M Center for Innovation in Advanced Development and Manufacturing.  He previously served as Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Chemical and Biological Defense at the Department of Defense.

# # #

Last Updated: 09/23/2019
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content