U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. About Us
  3. Site Links
  4. Archived
  5. News Archive
  6. Secretary Nielsen to Travel to Australia for the Five Country Ministerial

Archived Content

In an effort to keep DHS.gov current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Secretary Nielsen to Travel to Australia for the Five Country Ministerial

Release Date: August 24, 2018

WASHINGTON – Secretary of Homeland Security Kirstjen M. Nielsen will be in Australia next week for the Five Country Ministerial. The Five Country Ministerial brings together senior security officials from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States to discuss ways to deepen collaboration on public safety issues and to jointly confront persistent and emerging homeland security threats.

While in Australia, Secretary Nielsen will discuss how DHS is taking action—across the board—to elevate our security standards and thwart our enemies and adversaries. She will seek joint and coordinated action on a range of homeland security issues, including enhancing aviation security and border security, countering emerging threats such as those posed by weaponized or nefarious drones, confronting human trafficking, enhancing counterterrorism, mitigating cyber threats, and protecting critical infrastructure. She will reiterate her commitment to continuing to work with foreign partners collaboratively on these and other issues. 


Last Updated: 02/05/2021
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content