U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Publication Library
  4. Technical Capability Standards for Radiological Detection

Technical Capability Standards for Radiological Detection


The following publications establish technical capability standards for radiological and nuclear detection goals unique to the U.S. Government. The materials augment the national consensus standards established by American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and international consensus standards developed by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

The Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Office (CWMD) publishes these standards in collaboration with National Institute of Standards and Technology. The standards fulfill a requirement of the SAFE Port Act of 2006 publish technical capability standards for radiation detection and non-intrusive imaging systems.

Currently available technical capability standards are accessible as PDF files by clicking on the links below.

For technical questions about the standards, please contact CWMD@hq.dhs.gov.

To Learn More about CWMD, Please Visit:

Related Resources

Attachment Ext. Size Date
Technical Capability Standard for Handheld Instruments Used for the Detection and Identification of Radionuclides – 2019 PDF 1.19 MB 09/08/2020
Technical Capability Standard for Backpack Based Radiation Detection Systems PDF 913.26 KB 02/12/2020
Technical Capability Standard for Vehicle Mounted Mobile Systems PDF 959.22 KB 03/02/2020
Technical Capability Standard for Aerial Mounted Radiation Systems PDF 1.02 MB 02/10/2020
Technical Capability Standard for Radiation Portal Monitor Systems with Energy Analysis Capability - 2019 PDF 1.03 MB 09/08/2020
Last Updated: 09/13/2022
Was this page helpful?
This page was not helpful because the content